z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Recession – what recession? The week of 25 July 2022 saw strong rallies across most markets, in response to hints that the Federal Reserve might ease up on its rate hike programme.
Published 2 August
2½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share1.994.35-1.20-0.455.463.203.95
Euro Stoxx 503.107.47-0.61-11.21-6.215.234.71
S&P 5004.289.220.38-12.59-4.6613.3512.82
Japan Topix-0.793.722.30-1.264.5310.006.12
MSCI Asia Pac.-0.18-1.14-5.08-17.17-19.702.582.05
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.42-0.17-6.33-17.68-19.821.211.29
Jo’burg All Shares1.284.22-4.46-4.215.0210.748.31
UK Gov’t Bonds0.732.62-2.24-11.81-13.72-3.25-0.29
US Gov’t Bonds0.291.590.88-7.69-8.69-0.321.03
Global Corp. Bonds0.753.350.72-10.05-11.09-0.291.83
Emerg. Mkt. Local2.231.07-2.44-12.29-16.08-4.51-1.45
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 29/07/2022.

It was a relatively quiet week in terms of economic data. The main news was a further drop in US gross domestic product (GDP), this time by 0.9%. Technically, this second consecutive quarterly dip puts it in recession, but this data is often revised later and so should be treated with caution.

For his part, Federal Reserve (Fed) chair Jerome Powell made it clear he believes the US is not yet in recession. He also said there would be a point where the Fed slows rate rises to assess their impact. These statements were seized on by markets eager for positive news.

The Fed did raise interest rates by a further 75 basis points, as expected, and a similar rise could follow at the September meeting. There were signs of a cooling of the property market as US pending home sales fell by a dramatic 8.6% on the month, but this was unsurprising given the recent increases in mortgage rates. However, unemployment remains very low and the July figure is expected to drop further, to 3.5%. Investors will also be watching for further signs in the coming week’s data on manufacturing purchasing, trade balance and consumer credit.

Meanwhile, the Eurozone GDP outperformed that of the US, showing 0.7% growth during the second quarter. However, the bloc faces strong challenges from high inflation and European Central Bank interest rate hikes. In addition, Russia’s decision to cut gas deliveries through the Nord Stream pipeline to around 20% of capacity threatens the Eurozone with the prospect of disruption, outages and energy rationing.

On the political front, US president Joe Biden and his Chinese counterpart, Xi Jinping, had a “candid” call and mooted a possible face-to-face meeting. However, Taiwan remains a point of contention.

The big corporate news was Meta’s first-ever quarterly decline in sales. The company announced a 1% year-on-year drop to US$28.8 billion and predicted that growth in the third quarter could fall further. However, there was better news for other tech giants. Amazon beat market expectations with 7% sales growth year on year, albeit while recording a second consecutive quarterly loss. Apple’s earnings also outstripped predictions, with year-on-year growth of 2%.

With players anticipating a less aggressive approach to interest rates from the Fed, most markets performed strongly over the week of 25 July and were positive over the month. There was a reversal of fortune in equities, with growth stocks (+8.7%) outperforming value (+3.1%) in July. The rally spanned all styles, with small capitalisation stocks up by 7.1% and large capitalisation stocks up by 5.8%. Developed markets (+6.8%) continued to outperform emerging markets (-1.5%) over the short term.

Recession concerns left commodities continuing to struggle over the last 30 days. However, supply constraints saw oil rally (-7.7%) over recent precipitous drops. The best performing sector was information technology (+10.4%), while global property also did well (+6.1%). Communication services (+0.2%) was the worst performer over the month.

Bonds, too, have enjoyed an increase in value, with government (+2.6%), investment grade (+3.6%) and high yield (+4.4%) over the last 30 days.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)0.8
UK PMI52.852.8
UK CPI (YoY)9.4
EU GDP (QoQ)0.7
EU PMI49.449.4
EU CPI (YoY)8.9
US GDP (QoQ)-0.9
US PMI55.353.7
US CPI (YoY)9.18.8

What’s happened in portfolios?

The portfolio remains strong despite market volatility, as we continue to shift our bias slightly to reduce our exposure to more cyclical markets.

In equities, the emphasis is moving from value to quality stocks, which are more likely to offer better margin protection in the current economy. Our quality defensive holdings were the outperformers over July. This was underlined by their overweight to large cap tech stocks which outperformed this month given good earnings results. Microsoft’s returns were up by 9% compared to the second quarter of 2021, and Automatic Data Processing (ADP) announced annual growth in earnings per share of 15%.

Similarly, in fixed income, yields fell as gloomy economic data caused investors to believe the Fed may have to slow its aggressive pace of monetary tightening. This meant our longer dated, better quality investment grade bonds were well supported and outperformed the Bloomberg Global Aggregate Index. We continue to reduce credit risk and move towards quality and longer duration. To this end we are adopting a position in US Treasury inflation protected securities (TIPS).

Real assets continue to offer high yields with protection from inflation. However, we again moderated our view on cyclical assets by reducing our exposure to real estate investment trusts (REITS). The week of 25 July saw positive reports for the first half of the year from Greencoat UK Wind, who posted a NAV (net asset value) up by 15% (or 18% including dividends), and TRIG, The Renewables Infrastructure Group, whose NAV rose 12.5%. Both were boosted by high inflation and energy prices.

Finally, in alternative strategies, there was a very pleasing report from Oakley Capital Investments, which posted NAV growth of 11% for the second quarter. This gives clear evidence that the portfolio remains strong despite the recent volatility in markets.

What's happening this week?

3 August • EU Retail Sales (June) | 4 August • UK Bank of England Interest Rate Decision | 5 August • US Nonfarm Payrolls (July)

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) Microsoft and (4) Financial Times.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

5 Dec

   |   4 mins

US equities rallied on the last day of November after Federal Reserve chair Powell said the pace of monetary tightening could start to slow as soon as December 2022. While in the eurozone, inflation eased for the first time in 17 months.

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions