z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The Ukraine crisis remained a key concern during the week of 4 April, as did the quantitative tightening exercise the Federal Reserve looks to be undertaking due to forty-year high inflation.
Published 12 April
4¼ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share1.5410.851.322.3311.185.104.92
Euro Stoxx 50-1.4110.33-9.98-9.77-0.526.975.22
S&P 500-1.247.76-3.70-5.4611.0617.6815.80
Japan Topix-2.448.86-3.96-3.80-0.687.847.35
MSCI Asia Pac.-1.533.94-8.71-9.23-17.374.056.65
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-1.533.21-7.64-8.08-13.973.865.98
Jo’burg All Shares-1.174.423.073.4117.0213.0511.01
UK Gov’t Bonds-1.52-3.29-6.46-8.42-7.34-0.600.19
US Gov’t Bonds-1.65-4.53-5.88-7.39-6.090.921.33
Global Corp. Bonds-1.66-2.57-7.12-8.42-6.791.942.67
Emerg. Mkt. Local-1.431.11-5.43-6.14-8.80-0.601.04
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 8/04/2022.

The week of 4 April saw the release of the final purchasing managers’ (PMI) index data for March. With the final Eurozone services PMI revised upward slightly to 55.6, the final Composite PMI for March was calculated at 54.9 – slightly higher than the preliminary figure. The UK’s final services PMI for March was also released and – at 62.6 – had been revised higher from the preliminary 61 figure.

The US figure, meanwhile, was revised slightly lower to 57.7 in March from its 58.5 preliminary reading, but was still up from the 55.9 recorded in February. It still underlined the fastest rate of growth since July 2021, signalling a sharp expansion in business activity across the private sector.

In politics and policy, the dominant news story was the increasingly hawkish policy signals from the US central bank’s meeting on 15 and 16 March 2022 as it seeks to put in place proactive measures to tackle inflation. The Federal Reserve (Fed) suggested it will likely start culling assets from its US$9 trillion balance sheet at its meeting in early May and will do so at nearly twice the pace versus its previous quantitative tightening exercise as it confronts inflation running at a four-decade high. Ten-year US yields climbed through 2.75% for the first time since March 2019, as investors priced in the impact of the Fed’s plan and accelerating inflation.

In corporate news, Elon Musk acquired a position in Twitter equating to a 9.2% stake, making him the largest shareholder. He was also invited to join the board, although Twitter’s chief executive, Parag Agrawal, subsequently flagged Musk had declined the offer. This is thought to be because had he taken up this position, his stake in the company would have been capped at 15%.

March saw world food prices jump 12.6% compared month on month with February, marking a record high increase. This was down to the fact that Russia and Ukraine together account for more than a quarter of the world’s wheat. The countries are also key suppliers of barley, sunflower seed oil and corn. The expected shortages will prove to be especially problematic for developing and poorer countries, where a large proportion of disposable income is spent on food.

The US Senate voted 100-0 in favour of terminating normal trade activity and banning Russian oil imports. Despite this and other sanctions, the Russian ruble is now at levels higher than those seen before the Ukraine invasion took place.

Developed markets (+4.8%) outperformed emerging markets (+3.6%) over the previous 30 days, as well as over the longer term. In terms of style, growth stocks (+4.7%) performed in line with value stocks (+4.7%) over the last 30 days, while small capitalisation stocks (+2.2%) underperformed large capitalisation stocks (+4.9%).Healthcare (+10.2%) was the best performing sector, while industrials (-0.6%) was the worst, again over the previous 30 days. Bonds remain significantly volatile with longer-term issues lagging on the back of a the 2s/10s yield curve that has been steepening, with the 10-year yield standing 18.8 basis points higher than the yield of two-year notes on Friday.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.3
UK PMI60.9
UK CPI (YoY)6.26.7
EU GDP (QoQ)0.3
EU PMI54.9
EU CPI (YoY)7.5
US GDP (QoQ)6.9
US PMI58.3
US CPI (YoY)7.98.4

What’s happened in portfolios?

In terms of equities, our FTSE 100 and UK dividend stocks positioning worked well for us and fared well given their greater exposure to material and energy. What’s vital here is also what we don’t currently have exposure to, for example, equities and stocks at the growth end of the market.

When it comes to fixed income, our short duration position continues to help relative performance, with lower sensitivity to the increasing interest rates benefitting returns.

Real assets, overall, are providing a good level of diversification in what has already been a fairly volatile year. Real assets perform well in more inflationary environments and they offer a good degree of inflation protection, particularly when it comes to, for example, renewables, which are of course linked to energy prices.

What's happening this week?

12 Apr • US Consumer Price Index | 13 Apr • UK Consumer Price Index | 14 Apr • US Retail Sales

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) NASDAQ (3) Reuters, (4) S&P Global (4) US Department of Labor 

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

5 Dec

   |   4 mins

US equities rallied on the last day of November after Federal Reserve chair Powell said the pace of monetary tightening could start to slow as soon as December 2022. While in the eurozone, inflation eased for the first time in 17 months.

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions