z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The week of 9 May saw global equities sink for a sixth consecutive week as fears of a US recession added to the ongoing concerns over soaring inflation, coronavirus lockdowns in China, and Russia’s continuing invasion of Ukraine.
Published 17 May
7 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share0.44-2.44-3.12-1.256.834.933.78
Euro Stoxx 502.37-1.65-9.14-11.96-3.366.873.65
S&P 500-2.36-9.40-8.58-15.13-0.7814.5712.96
Japan Topix-2.70-1.37-3.86-5.293.229.085.75
MSCI Asia Pac.-2.40-9.20-18.25-18.48-21.902.563.53
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-2.60-10.08-18.54-17.94-20.322.252.71
Jo’burg All Shares0.99-5.98-8.26-4.888.8910.858.65
UK Gov’t Bonds2.430.14-3.05-8.75-6.16-0.730.19
US Gov’t Bonds0.92-1.54-5.86-8.76-7.330.110.96
Global Corp. Bonds0.65-2.62-7.26-11.20-9.350.601.88
Emerg. Mkt. Local-1.22-6.69-12.92-12.51-16.14-2.36-0.72
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 13/05/2022.

The week of 9 May was another eventful week across global markets and on the economic and geopolitical stage.

In the US, the consumer price index (CPI) for April came in ahead of expectations at 8.3% on an annualised basis, more than the 8.1% anticipated, but down from the 8.5% increase recorded in March. This was mainly due to base effects feeding through, with increases in the cost of food, new cars, airline fares and housing being the biggest contributors.

With US consumer prices remaining at a forty-year high, the consensus from a number of Federal Reserve (Fed) speakers, over the week of 9 May, suggested the central bank will take an even tougher stance on interest rates. The expectation is for further 50 basis point hikes in its next meetings in June, July and, possibly, September. The main question remains whether the US central bank can control inflation, without tipping the economy into recession.

The UK is facing similar challenges with the most recent CPI for the 12 months to March up 7.0% (the highest rate since the National Statistics began in January 1997).  The Bank of England governor Andrew Bailey spoke of a “narrow path” towards stabilising prices by raising interest rates, without impacting economic growth. Brexit also returned to the news, as it looks likely UK prime minister Boris Johnson will try to bring forward legislation to unilaterally rewrite parts of the Northern Ireland protocol he signed only 18 months ago.

Meanwhile in Europe, Christine Lagarde, president of the European Central Bank (ECB), signalled that she would support raising the ECB’s base rate in July – the first increase for more than a decade.

The conflict in Ukraine continued to dominate the headlines, but Monday 9 May also saw Russia’s Victory Day Parade in Moscow, marking the anniversary of the Soviet victory over Nazi Germany in 1945. The event was more muted than expected, with Russia’s leader giving no indication as to whether an escalation or a de-escalation in war efforts was imminent.

On the corporate front, around 90% of the US and 75% of European companies have now reported earnings for the quarter and overall results have been fairly strong, with Europe benefitting from a broader sector mix.

In other news, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority intervened in the currency markets, for the first time since 2019, to stop the HK dollar weakening and to bring it back within the trading band of 7.75 and 7.85 against the US dollar. A reflection of some of the large swings we’ve seen recently across currency markets.

In equity markets, the volatility continued as the news headlines fed through. The more cyclical value stocks (-6.4%) continued to outperform the longer duration growth stocks (-12.7%), albeit seeing general weakness. In terms of style, both small capitalisation stocks (-10.0%) and large capitalisation stocks (-9.4%) were down. The performance of developed markets (-9.3%) and emerging markets (-10.1%) over the short term was almost identical, but developed markets were more in favour over the longer term. All sectors were in negative territory over the last 30 days, but energy (-0.5%) continued to lead the way. Despite fluctuating and falling back slightly over the shorter term, energy was up more than 30% over the last 12 months. Although crude oil has fallen back to about US$110 a barrel, it remains at hugely elevated levels. The worst sector performer over the last 30 days was the cyclically exposed consumer discretionary (-14.0%). Within fixed income markets, lower grade credit has pulled back given the unsettled market backdrop. Finally, the US dollar, being a safe haven asset, remains in favour due to the risk off environment.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)0.8
UK PMI58.2
UK CPI (YoY)7.09.1
EU GDP (QoQ)0.20.2
EU PMI55.8
EU CPI (YoY)7.57.5
US GDP (QoQ)-1.4-1.4
US PMI57.1
US CPI (YoY)8.3

What’s happened in portfolios?

We still believe equities is a broadly favourable environment, despite the continued market volatility, and our value bias has helped relative equity performance in the portfolios.

In fixed income markets, we retain our short duration bias which has been beneficial for performance, but we are looking for more opportunities to gradually add duration and reintroduce some interest rate risk into the portfolios. The week of 9 May saw some huge swings in yield on the 10-year US Treasury bonds, which rose as high as 3.20% before closing the week at 2.93%.

Against this ongoing volatility, we continue to champion real assets and alternative strategies – areas where we can get diversification within our risk exposure, pick up attractive yields, even with rising rates, and build in some inflation protection.

In terms of real assets, there was good news from 3i Infrastructure, our direct infrastructure investment trust, which announced strong portfolio performance and released solid year-end results with a 17% return. This performance was broad based across its portfolio, with every asset owned delivering a positive return. Overall, real assets continue to provide vital downside protection.

Alternative Strategies have performed less well. On a month-to-date basis, private equity has pulled back a little given its links to broader public equity markets. However, overall we remain in favour of the asset class with both our private equity holdings performing reasonably well in terms of their net asset value (NAV) growth. We expect a certain level of heightened volatility with private equity investing, but over the longer term this should stabilise and produce decent long-term returns.

What's happening this week?

17 May • US retail sales | 18 May • UK Consumer Price Index | 18 May • EU Consumer Price Index

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth; Bloomberg; Reuters; Financial Times; UK Office of National Statistics; and US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

5 Dec

   |   4 mins

US equities rallied on the last day of November after Federal Reserve chair Powell said the pace of monetary tightening could start to slow as soon as December 2022. While in the eurozone, inflation eased for the first time in 17 months.

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions