z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Global inflation dominated news headlines during the week of 8 November, with US prices rising at their fastest rate since 1990, up 6.2% annually, in the face of persistent supply shortages – supply issues that also impacted UK Q3 economic growth.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 16 November
5 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share0.553.552.3017.6021.336.466.51
Euro Stoxx 500.177.913.8226.0430.7014.3511.04
S&P 500-0.277.755.3326.2034.3021.8918.85
Japan Topix-0.042.925.3515.3220.739.4110.63
MSCI Asia Pac.1.903.25-0.23-0.718.0314.1412.23
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.1.712.610.131.5311.3012.8511.52
Jo’burg All Shares3.096.163.0822.4127.7814.1310.46
UK Gov’t Bonds-0.894.00-1.60-4.61-2.193.792.85
US Gov’t Bonds-0.710.12-0.66-2.61-2.445.022.75
Global Corp. Bonds-0.680.60-0.44-0.730.986.804.79
Emerg. Mkt. Local0.160.15-2.44-6.93-2.994.163.72

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 12/11/2021.

The key highlight in the week of 8 November was the US consumer price index release for October, which was up +6.2% year-on-year, the highest inflation increase in more than three decades. On a month-on-month basis prices were up +0.9%, again beating expectations, and showing no sign that inflationary pressure is easing. A big driver of the price hikes was energy inflation, but even stripping out the more volatile factors of food and energy, annual core inflation was up to 4.6%, its highest since August 1991. Rental inflation also saw its largest monthly increase since June 2006, which is an important measure to monitor, moving forward, as it reflects underlying trend inflation.

The news could increase pressure on the Federal Reserve (Fed) to raise interest rates sooner, but markets are not expecting them to do so until after the bond purchase programme ends in June 2022. Two interest rate hikes are expected in 2022, with another three or four in 2023.

In other central bank news, it was confirmed Fed Governor Lael Brainard was interviewed for the Fed chair position. Fed Chair Jerome Powell’s current term in the post is due to expire in February 2022, and it had been thought Powell would win another four years. Treasury yields fell following this report, as Brainard is generally seen to be more dovish on monetary policy (i.e. more likely to maintain the current ‘accommodative’ monetary policy) than Powell. As such, investors are debating whether she would hold off raising interest rates for longer than currently anticipated and if she would follow through with the planned timeline for the tapering of the Fed’s asset purchasing programme. The central bank continues to buy US$120 billion a month worth of bonds and mortgage-backed securities to shore up the US economy.

The UK’s Q3 gross domestic product data was released on Thursday 11 November, which showed growth was slower than expected over the quarter. The UK has been battling with shortages for many goods, which has pushed up prices and hurt consumer spending. Business confidence is also low according to the published data, with investment in the third quarter well below the levels seen before the pandemic. The Bank of England may feel vindicated, to some extent, in its surprise decision to hold interest rates at 0.1% in its meeting on Thursday 4 November. However, the central bank still faces tricky choices ahead. Although raising interest rates in December should cool rising prices, it could slow economic growth further.

In corporate news, Disney reported worse than expected earnings as it saw a slowdown in the growth of its Disney+ streaming service. It added only two million new subscribers in the third quarter, its smallest quarterly gain since the service was launched in November 2019. It wasn’t a pretty picture in other areas of the business either, with higher marketing costs leading to its film studio making a loss, and its theme parks still not operating at full capacity. On a more positive note, the company has announced plans to build its own ‘metaverse’, which is type of a virtual reality experience that companies (such as Facebook) are already investing in.

Looking across the markets, riskier assets, in particular, have continued to be strong on the back of the Q3 earnings season. However, they have fallen back from their record highs as the prospect of more inflation in the future has dampened sentiment. The defensive qualities of developed markets (+6.2%), growth (+7.3%) and large capitalisation (cap) stocks (+5.8%) led to them being the better performers, while mega-cap technology stocks made information technology (+9.7%) stand out, once again, as the outperforming sector. Energy (-0.9%) has been slightly down, triggered by a fall in natural gas prices, but oil (+0.7%) saw a further rise following reports that the US will not need to release strategic reserves due to the demand outlook. Gold’s safe haven status led it to reach its highest level (+4.1%) since June 2021.

The prospects of a more inflationary future saw longer yields falling as higher quality, longer-dated government bonds yielded positive returns. This ‘flattening’ was most pronounced in the UK, following the weaker than expected growth reported in Q3 2021, which also led sterling to fall against the US dollar.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.3
UK PMI57.8
UK CPI (YoY)3.13.9
EU GDP (QoQ)2.22.2
EU PMI54.2
EU CPI (YoY)4.14.1
US GDP (QoQ)2.02.2
US PMI66.7
US CPI (YoY)6.2

What’s happened in portfolios?

Across portfolios, our focus remains on equities, real assets and alternative strategies as a means of building in strong earnings, inflation protection and diversification prospects for portfolios.

We still see a favourable environment for equities, despite the signs of growth moderating, due to the pockets of value we have found. Our preference for domestic developed markets remains constant – specifically pan-Europe – where economies are reopening and valuations are not as stretched on a relative basis. We also have a slight tilt towards value and cyclicals to provide exposure to the continuing economic recovery. And we are inclined to favour smaller, more domestically-focused companies to benefit from the pick-up in economic activity.

Our exposure to the US, despite being underweight in that market, has done well, especially our small and mid-capitalisation position via an S&P MidCap 400 tracker.

On the other hand, fixed income assets continue to face a number of headwinds. Inflation is still a clear threat to mid to longer duration positions, but our preference for taking credit rather than duration risk, with our short-dated, high yield positions in AXA and Muzinich, has paid off on a relative basis.

Within real assets, we are seeing continuing capital raises in the renewable energy sector which have dampened prices in the short-term, but also highlight the attractiveness of the sector. It is a similar story in property, where our positions in UK healthcare homes include Target Healthcare, which recently raised equity and has now recovered in value to trade higher after the capital raise.

Our alternative strategies include music royalties, asset-backed lending and private equity, which was included relatively recently. In terms of asset-backed lending, after a challenging period with the KKV Secured Loan Fund, we now feel confident in the director Brett Miller, who is managing the wind-down. Under his supervision, 67% of the June 2020 net asset value has been returned.

What's happening this week?

16 Nov • US Retail Sales | 17 Nov • UK Consumer Price Index | 17 Nov • EU Consumer Price Index

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg and (2) Reuters.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Forward-looking economic data signalled stronger growth in the last full week of November, but concerns over a new COVID-19 variant quickly clouded the outlook.

Investing

What happened in financial markets in October 2021

9 Nov

   |   6 mins

Marking the first in a new series of monthly videos, Rebecca Cretney spoke to Tom Caddick about the positive and negative news affecting financial markets during October 2021 and what that meant for clients’ investment portfolios.

Investing

The week in review

9 Nov

   |   3 mins

Optimism around a strong Q3 earnings season and rising US employment created a positive environment for riskier assets and equities in the week of 1 November.

Investing

October's investment market commentary

4 Nov

   |   2 mins

October was a mixed month for markets, with two main detractors and one big plus we would like to highlight.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions