z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Main markets all moved higher, except for Asia ex Japan, with the MSCI All Country World Index up +2.1% in US Dollar terms and +1.9% in Sterling terms. Value stocks, meanwhile, continued to benefit from the changing economic backdrop.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 16 March
2 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share2.233.215.505.5734.922.536.59
Euro Stoxx 504.463.8010.358.2654.637.208.11
S&P5002.690.378.065.3261.7614.4616.52
Japan Topix2.890.919.678.1550.516.349.96
MSCI Asia Pac.0.14-6.068.645.1755.168.6315.64
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.70-5.547.704.5656.476.1714.02
Jo’burg All Shares0.043.6815.5215.4658.248.349.06
UK Gov’t Bonds-0.68-3.01-7.38-7.05-6.733.333.19
US Gov’t Bonds-0.51-2.37-4.09-4.06-3.004.442.52
Global Corp. Bonds-0.44-2.36-3.08-3.495.185.815.18
Emerg. Mkt. Local Currency Bonds-0.06-4.85-4.50-5.377.361.114.26

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 12/3/2021.

While vaccine programmes have engendered headlines about the reduced number of infections and hospitalisations – coverage which was further supported by GlaxoSmithKline’s statement that its monotherapy drug for early COVID-19 treatment of high-risk adults was found to be 85% effective in reducing hospitalisation or death – the EU vaccine programme came under further pressure as several member countries halted the rollout of the AstraZeneca/Oxford University jab over fears it was linked to an increase in blood clots. Although the scientists reviewed the data and stated there was no link, many authorities remain unconvinced.  

More positive news also stemmed from President Biden signing the US$1.9 trillion American Rescue Plan into law after two months of negotiations. The package includes a direct US$1,400 payment for individual Americans, a US$300 per week unemployment supplement and funds towards a vaccine distribution that promises inoculations being made available to ever adult US citizen from the start of May.

This and the rapid rollout of many vaccine programmes led the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) to report that it expected a stronger rebound from the 2020 recession than previously forecast as it revised this year’s global growth forecast up by 1.4% to 5.6%.

We also saw the latest US inflation data published, with the core consumer price index rising by 1.3% compared to this time in 2020. And the UK’s January gross domestic product number came in better than expected, down -2.9% versus December 2020, instead of the 4.9% forecast. Meanwhile, the UK’s exports to the EU fell by 40.7% in January, and imports dropped by 28.8% as the new trading measures due to Brexit came into force.

Oil prices fell back, after quite a sharp rise to over US$70 a barrel at the start of the week of 8 March, following an attack on Saudi Arabia’s energy facilities. Saudi Arabia was quick to reassure that oil production had not been affected and that the distribution from the affected area continued as normal.

In markets, all regions posted positive performance, apart from Asia ex Japan (-0.56%), with Europe ex UK leading the way (+3.41%), followed by the US (+2.10%). Style-wise, value (+2.15%) continued to claw back performance versus growth (+1.65%), and year-to-date is up +6.70% versus growth’s -1.40%. Among sectors, utilities (+3.74%), consumer discretionary (+3.40%) and real estate (+3.15%) were the best sectors, while healthcare (+1.09%) lagged. Small capitalisation stocks (+3.87%) continued to outperform their large peers (+1.73%).

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.0 –
UK PMI49.6 –
UK CPI (YoY)0.7 –
EU GDP (QoQ)-0.7 –
EU PMI48.8 –
EU CPI (YoY)0.90.9
US GDP (QoQ)4.1 –
US PMI55.3 –
US CPI (YoY)1.7 –

What’s happened in portfolios?

It’s worth stepping back this week and looking at the shift in the narrative as markets start pricing in life post the pandemic. Yes, markets are always forward looking, but this is very clear given the anticipation of sharp upticks in economic activity and output.

However, markets remain choppy, although we are starting to see the unloved, value stocks of the last five years pick up momentum versus their growth peers. And while it is difficult to look at the week of 8 March in isolation – after all we do constantly talk about investing being a long-term option – trends are beginning to form.

Meanwhile, the bond market is seeing the longer end of the maturity curve steepen. This is where our short duration positions, which have been the best fixed income investment in the last few weeks, continue to prove valuable, in spite of the negative impact they had in 2020. However, with the US Treasury breakeven inflation curve inverting, as short-term rates traded above the long-term ones, it appears that investors are begging to believe the Federal Reserve’s stance that any pickup in inflation will rapidly fade.

What's happening this week?

17 Mar • Federal Reserve meeting | 18 Mar • Bank of England meeting | 19 Mar • Bank of Japan meeting

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Reuters; (2) US Department of Labor; and (3) Bloomberg.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

Options for uncertain investors

19 Oct

   |   7½ mins

Many clients hesitate to invest. They have often realised the reasons why, but want to hold back given we live in uncertain times. Rebecca Cretney highlights the points she raises in her conversations, as well as the advantages and disadvantages for the options to be considered.

Investing

The week in review

19 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 11 October saw inflation increase higher than had been expected in the US and raised the prospects of action by the Federal Reserve in its November meeting. Meanwhile, growth forecasts for developed markets were cut slightly as supply chain issues continue.

Investing

September's investment market commentary

18 Oct

   |   2 mins

During September, the economic and corporate environment remained positive, however some equity sectors are beginning to look fully valued.

Investing

The week in review

12 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 4 October saw persistent inflation amid signs of slowing economic growth, with fears of stagflation stoked. While the US announced a disappointing new job number for September, but a fall in unemployment.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions