z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Equity markets saw their biggest rally in two years after the US consumer price index for October came in better than expected and raised investor hopes that inflation has peaked.
Published 15 November
4 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share1.007.89-1.60-1.04-0.873.283.39
Euro Stoxx 504.8815.903.22-7.10-8.284.434.72
S&P 5005.9311.39-4.70-15.09-12.7910.7211.03
Japan Topix3.265.693.401.760.807.634.33
MSCI Asia Pac.7.678.59-8.60-23.26-25.71-0.94-0.98
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.5.758.31-7.13-21.89-24.61-1.25-1.00
Jo’burg All Shares5.3113.274.673.6910.7913.518.01
UK Gov’t Bonds2.3112.13-9.77-21.33-21.89-6.86-2.44
US Gov’t Bonds1.750.38-5.25-13.14-13.00-2.68-0.19
Global Corp. Bonds2.161.99-5.54-15.64-15.80-2.800.37
Emerg. Mkt. Local4.045.00-4.22-13.74-14.78-5.23-1.52
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 11/11/2022.

The week of 7 November saw strong gains in all major asset classes following cooler than expected inflation data from the US. The headline consumer price index (CPI) came in at 0.4% for October, below the 0.6% expected, bringing the annual inflation figure to 7.7%. Although still well above the Federal Reserve’s (Fed) target rate of 2.0%, this was lower than expected and marked the slowest increase since January, which triggered a strong rally across markets. The Fed reaction was more muted, however, with speakers after the CPI report stating there was still a long way to go with inflation, albeit acknowledging this was a step in the right direction. In other economic data, US weekly jobless claims rose to 225,000, slightly worse than the 220,000 expected, but still low compared to long-term averages.

In US politics, the much anticipated Republican red wave in the midterm elections became more of a red ripple as the Democrats retained control of the US senate, although the race for Congress is still undecided.

In the UK, gross domestic product for the third quarter fell by 0.2%, the first quarterly decline in more than a year. This was a slightly smaller contraction than expected, but the Bank of England has already forecast a recession that could last two years. This highlights the challenges faced by the chancellor, Jeremy Hunt, when he delivers his autumn budget on 17 November, which promises tough decisions on tax and spending as he attempts to tackle the UK’s £55 billion budgetary hole.

The European Commission also forecast an imminent recession in the eurozone, due mainly to issues with energy supplies and prices caused by the Russia-Ukraine conflict. However, Germany reported better that expected industrial output, as its industrial production rose 0.6% in September (beating the 0.1% increase expected).

On the corporate front, Disney disappointed the market with weak earnings due to rising content and marketing costs, despite its subscriber numbers being up 14.6 million in its fiscal fourth quarter. And as layoffs in the beleaguered tech sector spread, Meta announced it was to lay off 11,000 employees, around 13% of its workforce, as it sinks more money into the metaverse.

In other news, there was heightened volatility in the cryptocurrency market due to a liquidity crunch within FTX, an unregulated exchange. The company faces bankruptcy without a cash injection.

The better-than-expected CPI report from the US set the tone for markets over the week. Although there were other positives too, as advances by Ukraine forces in the Russian conflict and China easing some of its COVID-19 restrictions also supported markets. The massive rally on Thursday saw the S&P 500 gain 5.5% (its best day since April 2020) and the tech-heavy NASDAQ close 7.4% higher (its best day since March 2020).

Developed market equities (+11.1%) outperformed emerging markets (+3.0%) over the last 30 days. In terms of style, value (+11.9%) outperformed growth (+8.4%), while small and large capitalisation stocks were both up, +10.5% and +10.0% respectively. Industrials (+15.0%) was the best-performing sector, while communication services (+1.65%) remained the worst. Energy, the best performing sector over previous weeks, was up (+11.9%), while technology stocks (+11.6%) saw a boost given their higher sensitivity to interest rates and the prospect of slowing rate increases.

Government bonds also participated in the rally, with the yield on the two-year Treasury note having the biggest daily decline since October 2008. Bond prices and yields move in opposite directions, so bond prices rise as yields fall. The longer dated bonds benefited most due to better expectations on inflation.

The US dollar had its worst daily performance since 2015 on Thursday, following the CPI report, paving the way for sterling to reclaim levels not seen since before the UK mini-budget. The US dollar had remained strong while more rate hikes were priced in, but with the cooler than expected inflation data, the currency markets immediately priced in lower rate increases and triggered the fall.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)-0.2
UK PMI48.2
UK CPI (YoY)10.110.7
EU GDP (QoQ)0.20.2
EU PMI47.3
EU CPI (YoY)10.710.7
US GDP (QoQ)2.6
US PMI54.4
US CPI (YoY)7.7

What’s happened in portfolios?

In equities, it was the quality funds that bounced back most strongly following the lower-than-expected CPI release, which benefitted our quality tilt within portfolios.

Within fixed income, our longer duration government bonds, the more interest rate sensitive part of the market, were well supported on the back of falling yields and helped our performance.

Good news too on the real assets front as 3i Infrastructure announced impressive half-year results with its net asset value up over 9%, against its target for the year of 8-10%. This was driven strongly by the inflation sensitivity of the portfolio and energy prices, due to its exposure to renewables. BCPT, our commercial property trust, also rebounded well, up nearly 30% since we picked up stock during the recent volatility.

We also saw a strong rebound in several of the alternative strategies, including the investment trusts, as volatility settled a little within the UK market. Last week saw returns of around 5-6% for most of the alternative strategies, as well as for real assets, which gives us a differentiator versus the core bond peer group for income.

What's happening this week?

16 November • US Retail Sales (Oct) | 17 November • EU Consumer Price Index (Oct) | 17 November • UK Autumn Statement

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) Nasdaq and (4) Financial Times

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Investing

October's investment market commentary

9 Nov

   |   2 mins

October proved to be a good month for markets, as risk assets rallied strongly on expectations of a pivot on interest rate policy from central banks. While a semblance of stability was also restored in UK government, with the appointment of a new prime minister and a greater emphasis on fiscal prudence.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions