z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The week of 6 June saw the release of higher than expected inflation figures in the US, prompting increased expectations of more aggressive interest rate hikes from the Federal Reserve.
Published 14 June
4½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share-2.791.533.32-2.163.553.563.29
Euro Stoxx 50-4.871.950.92-13.99-9.105.023.28
S&P 500-5.04-2.31-8.06-17.60-6.6612.3911.88
Japan Topix0.514.347.46-1.261.6810.336.49
MSCI Asia Pac.0.586.42-2.59-13.06-21.725.024.08
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-0.535.10-3.56-13.52-21.453.743.43
Jo’burg All Shares-4.371.32-7.07-5.995.399.049.14
UK Gov’t Bonds-2.05-5.36-8.47-14.31-13.38-3.70-1.20
US Gov’t Bonds-1.27-1.04-6.33-9.87-9.69-0.850.54
Global Corp. Bonds-1.73-1.15-6.06-12.36-11.99-0.291.43
Emerg. Mkt. Local-2.451.54-5.27-11.17-16.75-2.72-0.83
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 10/06/2022.

The week of 6 June saw the release of stronger than expected inflation figures in the US, with the consumer price index for the year to May at 8.6%, up from 8.3% in April, and the highest level for over four decades. Core inflation, which excludes the most volatile food and energy components, only eased to 6.0% from 6.2%, remaining higher than anticipated. This upset markets and led to a sell-off in global bonds and equities alongside increased expectations of more aggressive interest rate hikes from the Federal Reserve.

In the UK, total retail sales for May year-on-year declined by 1.1% as consumers continued to cut spending in the face of the cost of living crisis. This was the second consecutive month of declining retail sales and a sharper slowdown than the 0.3% reported in April. On the political front, UK prime minister Boris Johnson narrowly survived a vote of no confidence but failed to draw a line under the ‘partygate’ issues, as 41% of Conservative MPs voted against him.

The European Central Bank (ECB) continued to signal a rate rise of 25 basis points in July, but surprised markets by hinting at a 50 basis points increase in September, if the inflation outlook does not improve, which could see rates move into positive territory for the first time in eight years. The EU nations finally imposed a partial embargo on the import of crude oil and petroleum products from Russia.

The World Bank downgraded its global growth forecast to 2.9% in 2022, significantly lower than the 4.1% it expected in January. This was put down to the disruptive effects of the war in Ukraine, a fading of post-pandemic demand and the withdrawal of fiscal and monetary policy support.

Despite its zero-Covid policy and ongoing lockdowns, China’s exports surged to 16.9% in May from a year earlier, beating estimates of 8.0%. While in Germany, factory orders unexpectedly contracted 2.7% month on month against a predicted 0.4% gain.

Tightening monetary policy continued around the word in an effort to control inflation. In a hawkish move, the Reserve Bank of Australia hiked rates by 50 basis points, which was more than expected albeit off a very low base.

Corporate news was fairly limited over the week of 6 June, although major US retailer Target cut its profit outlook for the second time in three weeks as it adjusted its inventories to account for changing consumer demand. 

In other news, OPEC+ agreed to increase oil production in July and August to try and address the current supply and demand imbalance; however, this did not exhaust the recent rally in oil prices.

The week of 6 June was a difficult time for markets both on the equity and bond side. Emerging markets (+4.7%) performed better than developed markets (-0.2%) over the last 30-days for the first time in a while, possibly reflecting the recent easing of lockdowns in China. Although it is unclear whether this can be sustained while China continues to enforce its zero-Covid policy. In terms of style, growth (+0.6%) was slightly ahead of value (+0.3%), while small capitalisation stocks (+2.5%) outperformed large capitalisation stocks (+0.3%). By sector, energy (+10.9%) remained the best performer on the back of the surging oil prices, while consumer staples (-4.4%) was the worst performer.

In fixed income, the hawkish rhetoric from central banks and the higher than expected US inflation have caused a strong sell-off in bond markets in June so far and a continued rise in bond yields, with the 2-year treasury note now above 3%, causing government bonds to lag behind.

In terms of currencies, the Japanese yen remains weak and fell to a 20-year low against the US dollar given the Bank of Japan is one of the few central banks that is not tightening its monetary policy.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)0.8
UK PMI53.1
UK CPI (YoY)9.0
EU GDP (QoQ)0.6
EU PMI54.8
EU CPI (YoY)8.18.1
US GDP (QoQ)-1.5-1.3
US PMI55.9
US CPI (YoY)8.6

What’s happened in portfolios?

There’s been little change in portfolios week on week. It remains a reasonable environment for equities, but we do expect the volatility to continue. We retain our preference for developed markets – although cognisant of recent geopolitical risks in Europe and have moderated our overweight there recently. We also see some challenges in the UK due to potentially persistent inflation.

In global equities, the TT Emerging Markets Equity Fund has made gains over the past month – helped by its overweight to energy and materials, and its exposure to Chinese technology holdings.

It’s a less favourable environment for fixed income assets. However, with the recent shift upwards in yields, we’ve been adding to duration incrementally over the year to date and reducing credit risk. We’re making the transition from taking credit risk to taking more interest rate risk as we’re getting paid more, and also increasing the credit quality of the portfolio.

Real assets still appear attractive as an alternative to fixed income and with some inflation protection. Our Target Healthcare REIT has been solid over the month, benefiting from rents linked to inflation. It is also due to join the FTSE 250 index on Monday 20 June – which will help liquidity and sentiment.

Alternative strategies remain preferable in the current environment to provide a credible diversifier within portfolios, particularly as equities and bonds are so highly correlated at the moment. Our private equity holding Oakley Capital Investments announced the sale of its stake in German cloud hosting platform Cobtabo. The transaction represents a 105% premium to the stake’s carrying value at the end of March and adds 17p to the company’s net asset value per share.

What's happening this week?

14 June • UK Unemployment Rate | 14 June • US Producer Price Index | 17 June • EU Consumer Price Index

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth; Bloomberg; Reuters; British Retail Organisation; World Bank; and Center for Strategic and International Studies.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

5 Dec

   |   4 mins

US equities rallied on the last day of November after Federal Reserve chair Powell said the pace of monetary tightening could start to slow as soon as December 2022. While in the eurozone, inflation eased for the first time in 17 months.

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions