z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Push-pull factors continued to buffet markets in the week of 29 August 2022. Rising inflation, energy disruption and hawkish talk on base rates prevailed, alongside relatively strong corporate earnings data.
Published 5 September
2½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share-1.88-1.52-2.98-2.340.043.463.25
Euro Stoxx 50-1.62-3.72-6.34-15.06-13.324.003.79
S&P 500-3.23-3.89-5.66-16.78-12.2112.0511.58
Japan Topix-2.470.270.38-1.74-0.3311.235.99
MSCI Asia Pac.-3.23-1.49-6.69-19.35-23.943.221.19
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-3.41-0.85-7.04-19.13-23.452.310.41
Jo’burg All Shares-3.79-0.27-4.29-5.765.5811.347.38
UK Gov’t Bonds-3.45-9.95-8.12-19.62-21.11-7.52-2.44
US Gov’t Bonds-0.79-2.23-1.69-10.15-11.07-2.300.31
Global Corp. Bonds-1.35-3.01-2.60-13.02-13.94-2.151.02
Emerg. Mkt. Local-1.07-1.20-4.33-13.03-17.23-4.16-1.91
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 2/09/2022.

US interest rate hikes have yet to make a dent in the tightness of the labour market, according to data showing job openings rose to a near-record 11.2 million in July. The Federal Reserve remains committed to continuing base rate hikes in the coming months in its attempts to master inflation.

The same concern applies in the eurozone, where a flash consumer price index (CPI) figure puts August inflation at 9.1%, up from 8.9% in July. Russia’s decision to keep the Nord Stream 1 pipeline closed indefinitely following routine maintenance will pile further pressure on European gas supplies and prices. This will bolster the European Central Bank’s determination to raise rates at its meeting on Thursday 8 August: a 75 basis points increase is widely expected.

In the UK, Monday 5 September sees the announcement of a new UK prime minister, heralding major policy changes and an emergency budget after a summer of campaigning.

Corporate results saw consumer electronics retailer Best Buy announce earnings per share (EPS) 30% higher than expected, at $1.54, despite a dip in sales. Hewlett Packard’s EPS was $1.04, broadly in line with expectations.

In the markets, value stocks (-2.4%) outperformed growth (-5.0%) over the short term. Small and large capitalisation stocks both showed -3.7% declines over the last 30 days. Developed markets recorded a similar drop (-4.1%), while emerging markets (-0.5%) were static.

Energy was the best performing sector (+2.0%), but oil (-6.8%) continued to struggle. Information technology was the poorest performer (-6.1%) while global property also dipped (-5.1%).

Bonds of all types face capital losses on the back of rising yields as a result of rate hike expectations. Government bonds dipped by -3.2%, investment grade by -3.6% and high yield -2.5% over the last 30 days.

The US dollar index touched a 20-year high as the currency leapt by 5.4% against sterling and 5.3% against the yen.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)-0.1
UK PMI49.650.9
UK CPI (YoY)10.1
EU GDP (QoQ)0.60.6
EU PMI48.949.2
EU CPI (YoY)9.1
US GDP (QoQ)-0.6
US PMI56.755.4
US CPI (YoY)8.5

What’s happened in portfolios?

The environment remains challenging for equities. We believe our current bias towards quality is the best move, though expectations of yet higher interest rates have weighed on these stocks. Our recent tilt towards US equities has been helpful as these continue to outperform UK and European stocks.

Fixed income has become more attractive with the significant rise in yields. Short duration investment grade and government bonds have been the relative winners recently and our portfolio still leans in this direction relative to the market.

Real assets continue to outperform, offering protection in a recessionary environment. Renewables in particular have soared on the back of high energy prices. If reversal of the proposed UK corporation tax hike is carried through by the new prime minister, it will have a further positive effect on net asset values.

In our alternative strategies, SDCL Energy Efficiency Income Trust plans a new share issue with the aim of raising £100 million. This comes ahead of a deal to purchase United Utilities Renewable Energy for £100 million, which the firm anticipates will complete shortly. While stock weakened slightly after the announcement, the company’s fundamentals remain strong. Alternative strategies in general are still favoured as valid alternatives to traditional assets and an opportunity to benefit from market volatility.

What's happening this week?

6 September • UK BRC Retail Sales | 7 September • EU ECB Interest Rate Decision | 8 September • US Initial Jobless Claims

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters and (3) Eurostat Statistics.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

26 Sep

   |   3 mins

The markets felt the tremors from a continuing chain of seismic rate rises across the world – plus the UK government’s move to rip up the budgetary rule-book – in the week of 19 September 2022.

Investing

Are equities cheap or expensive?

20 Sep

   |   5 mins

Should I invest now or wait for greater falls? Rebecca Cretney discusses some of the questions she gets asked and explains why personal financial advice can prove far more valuable than economic forecasts.

Investing

The week in review

13 Sep

   |   5½ mins

The week of 5 September saw further monetary tightening as central banks continued to raise interest rates to curb inflation. While on the fiscal front, governments announced packages to support consumers in the face of soaring energy prices.

Investing

August's investment market commentary

6 Sep

   |   3 mins

August started promisingly with risk assets supported by encouraging economic data from the US. But focus soon shifted to the further deterioration of Europe’s energy situation, increasing the prospect of much slower economic growth, higher inflation and higher interest rates.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions