z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The week of 28 March was one of market volatility in the face of rising inflation, aggressive interest rate rises and no signs of a de-escalation in the Russia-Ukraine war. And marked an uncertain end to the first quarter of 2022.
Published 5 April
4¼ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share0.863.520.780.7812.765.224.74
Euro Stoxx 501.324.20-8.48-8.481.798.055.49
S&P 5000.085.70-4.28-4.2814.6618.5716.04
Japan Topix-0.893.51-1.39-1.391.508.837.55
MSCI Asia Pac.1.72-2.91-7.81-7.81-15.645.127.06
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.1.90-2.33-6.66-6.66-12.084.996.39
Jo’burg All Shares2.33-0.794.644.6418.2414.1411.64
UK Gov’t Bonds1.00-4.57-7.01-7.01-5.39-0.300.57
US Gov’t Bonds0.55-4.02-5.84-5.84-4.271.441.70
Global Corp. Bonds0.96-2.96-6.87-6.87-4.962.553.08
Emerg. Mkt. Local0.82-2.53-4.79-4.79-6.11-0.071.28
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 1/04/2022.

Inflation in the eurozone surged to an all-time high as the consumer price index for March 2022 came in at 7.5%, well above the 6.6% expected and the 5.9% in February. This prompted speculation that the European Central Bank will start raising interest rates sooner than expected. Particularly as the Russia-Ukraine situation weighs heavily on sentiment and activity in the region.

In the US, the monthly nonfarm payrolls beat expectations, adding 431,000 jobs in March as higher wages lured more workers back to the labour force. This took the unemployment rate to a post-pandemic low of 3.6%, which by most measures reflects full employment, and indicates a strong labour market in the US that could add to inflationary pressure. All of which suggested the Federal Reserve (Fed) will probably go ahead as expected and raise interest rates by 50-basis points at its next meeting in May.

In the UK, gross domestic product grew more strongly than expected, coming in at 1.3% in the last quarter of 2021. This was down to better than anticipated export numbers, which rose by 6.9%, and service industries expanding more quickly than anticipated at 1.5%.

The geopolitical fallout of the Russia-Ukraine conflict continued to dominate the news as oscillation in sentiment regarding war negotiations continued. Putin’s plan for gas payments to be settled in roubles was rejected by European states on the grounds it would be a breach of contract. However, it did highlight the potential risk of gas rationing in Europe in the future.

In other news, oil prices dropped after US president Joe Biden announced the release of one million barrels of oil a day for the next six months from the US Strategic Petroleum Reserve, in an attempt to lower gas prices.

In corporate news, supply issues continued to dominate. Huawei, the Chinese technology company, published its first ever yearly revenue decline, which was attributed to supply issues and a slowing demand for 5G. Although this has been exacerbated by the fact the company has been blacklisted under US sanctions.

Reported supply issues related to COVID-19 impacted the automotive sector, while Walgreens, the pharmaceutical company that owns Boots in the UK, reported pandemic demand had slowed on the back of reduced testing numbers.

In terms of market moves, the week of 28 March saw the STOXX 600 and the three main US indices post their first negative quarterly returns since the original COVID-19 onslaught in Q1 2020, making Q1 a negative quarter overall despite the recent rally in world markets.

However, March on the whole has been a positive month for equity markets, especially developed markets (+4%). However, emerging markets (-3%) have fallen behind as a result of the Russia-Ukraine situation and ongoing issues in China, which dominates the indices, due to its zero tolerance COVID-19 policy and also the regulatory crackdown on certain industries.

Growth stocks (+4%) performed slightly better than value stocks (+3%) over the last 30 days and, as last week, there was little difference in performance between small capitalisation stocks (+3%) and large capitalisation stocks (+4%). Once again, energy (+5%) performed well, but utilities (+7%) was the best-performing sector over the last 30 days. Global property (+5%) also performed well, while the worst-performing sectors were consumer staples (+1%), again, and commercial services (+1%).

In fixed income markets, the news was of certain yield curves starting to invert, which is viewed as a possible indicator of recession. In particular, the yield on the two-year US Treasury note rose above the yield on the 10-year note for the first time since August 2019, as US Treasuries suffered the worst quarter on record, on expectations of heightened tightening from the central banks.

The Japanese Yen weakened to its lowest level against the US dollar since 2015, following the Bank of Japan’s announcement that it would purchase 10-year Japanese government bonds in unlimited quantity over three sessions.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.3
UK PMI59.759.7
UK CPI (YoY)6.2
EU GDP (QoQ)0.3
EU PMI54.554.5
EU CPI (YoY)7.5
US GDP (QoQ)6.9
US PMI56.558.4
US CPI (YoY)7.9

What’s happened in portfolios?

While taking a slightly more cautious tone, we remain positive in terms of risk assets in this environment, especially real assets and alternatives, while remaining underweight fixed income and cash. We have recently reduced out fixed income exposure across portfolios by selling some of our short-dated positions and are looking to redeploy this in areas we think present better opportunities such as real assets and alternative strategies.

Looking at our underlying equity funds, the managers with a value focus have been in positive territory this year on the back of their biases to energy, materials and financials. These include our active value manager Dodge & Cox, which has outperformed the MSCI All Country World Index (ACWI) by 7% in this year. Our passive UK strategies have also worked well for us.

In fixed income, with yields continuing to rise, our short duration position continues to help relative performance.

In real assets, The Renewables Infrastructure Group (TRIG) announced the acquisition of an operational solar photovoltaic (PV) site in Spain for around £80 million – this would represent 3% of the portfolio, and would mean Spain represents 8% and solar PV 15%. We see diversifying into non-wind assets as a positive move for TRIG.

Finally, in alternative strategies, the Princess Private Equity published its net asset value, which was down -0.8% in February.  This follows the sale of Voyage Care, a UK provider of specialist care, and investment in Pharmathen, an organisation focused on advanced drug delivery technologies.

What's happening this week?

05 Apr • UK Services Purchasing Managers’ Index | 07 Apr • EU Retail Sales | 07 Apr • US Initial Jobless Claims

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) Financial Times, (4) US Bureau of Labor Statistics and (5) Office for National Statistics.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

5 Dec

   |   4 mins

US equities rallied on the last day of November after Federal Reserve chair Powell said the pace of monetary tightening could start to slow as soon as December 2022. While in the eurozone, inflation eased for the first time in 17 months.

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions