z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Symptoms of economic malaise lingered, but the markets anticipated a better prognosis in the week of 24 October 2022, rallying on the prospect of a pivot on interest rates.
Published 1 November
3 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share1.561.12-4.10-5.60-3.591.762.27
Euro Stoxx 503.938.36-0.86-13.30-11.832.772.96
S&P 5003.975.02-3.81-17.10-13.8210.4410.53
Japan Topix0.913.33-1.61-2.41-2.627.323.80
MSCI Asia Pac.-2.62-6.27-18.63-32.18-34.36-4.41-2.91
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-2.23-3.36-14.60-29.44-31.59-4.23-2.67
Jo’burg All Shares1.334.31-1.09-5.702.7910.266.36
UK Gov’t Bonds5.154.75-11.54-22.12-22.34-7.48-2.59
US Gov’t Bonds1.20-1.69-6.89-14.03-13.78-3.15-0.36
Global Corp. Bonds1.84-0.87-7.57-16.99-16.97-3.380.03
Emerg. Mkt. Local1.590.48-5.42-17.64-18.23-6.93-2.36
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 28/10/2022.

The US economy saw its first period of positive growth for 2022 in Q3 as gross domestic product (GDP) rose by 2.6%, higher than forecast. Sales of new homes sank by 10.9% in September as the Federal Reserve continued to raise interest rates, although again this was a better result than expected.

In Europe, economic health indicators were disappointing. The flash purchasing managers’ index (PMI) data for October fell from 48.1 to 47.1, the fastest decline since April 2013 barring pandemic lockdowns, fuelling heightened recession fears. Among the most alarming figures was Germany’s unexpected 11.6% jump in consumer prices in October.

After the installation of a new prime minister, Rishi Sunak, the UK government pushed back its fiscal plan announcement by two weeks to 17 November. The calculation is that government borrowing costs may ease further by then, theoretically shrinking the financial shortfall to be addressed.

In other news, the Bank of Canada surprised commentators with a smaller-than-expected interest rate rise of 50 basis points, to 3.75%. The Bank of Japan remained a global outlier in the battle against inflation, sticking to ultra-low interest rates and its policy of bond-buying to control yield curves.

It was a challenging week for the tech giants. Meta announced net income of US$4.4 billion for Q3, 52% lower than the same period last year; losses made by the company’s metaverse division are expected to grow. Amazon also failed to meet revenue estimates – and announced a lower-than-expected forecast for Q4 – while Microsoft posted a 14% year-on-year fall in net income for Q3.

Markets across the developed world rallied, pricing in an anticipated pivot by central banks to a more doveish stance.

While equity returns in developed markets rose by +5.1%, emerging markets saw a -3.5% drop over the last 30 days, influenced by policy concerns after President Xi’s reappointment in China. Value stocks (+7.0%) outpaced growth (+1.3%), while small capitalisation stocks (+6.5%) grew faster than large caps (+3.9%).

Energy (+20.8%) was the best performing sector over the last 30 days, on the back of oil’s resurgence (+15.6%). Commercial services (-2.9%) fared worst.

Long duration government bonds were up (+1.4%) as yields fell. The US dollar lost some of its recent gains, particularly against sterling (-7.2%) after the UK’s new prime minister promised more stability.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)
UK PMI47.247.3
UK CPI (YoY)
EU GDP (QoQ)0.10.1
EU PMI47.147.1
EU CPI (YoY)
US GDP (QoQ)
US PMI55.155.2
US CPI (YoY)

What’s happened in portfolios?

We have benefited from the strong performance in value stocks, through our overweight position on energy companies and banks.

The significant upward shift in yields has made fixed income more attractive. Our exposure to longer duration is now much higher than at the start of the year, and these longer duration credit and government bonds have fared better over the past week or two.

During the volatility in the UK economy, we took advantage of the sell-off in investment trusts to top up our exposure. For example, Balanced Commercial Property Trust (BCPT) saw a significant fall in price, but we remain confident about its fundamental value. Student accommodation specialist Empiric announced record high occupancy of 98%.

In alternative assets, Hipgnosis Songs Fund Limited rebounded strongly after Apple Music’s announcement of a US$1 hike in subscriptions; this is expected to increase its revenues, and therefore music stock royalties, without making a significant dent in demand.

What's happening this week?

2 November • US Federal Reserve Interest Rate Decision | 3 November • EU Unemployment Rate (Sep) | 3 November • UK Bank of England Interest Rate Decision

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) IHS Markit, (4) Financial Times and (5) Property Week

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Investing

The week in review

15 Nov

   |   4 mins

Equity markets saw their biggest rally in two years after the US consumer price index for October came in better than expected and raised investor hopes that inflation has peaked.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions