z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Looking back at events and financial markets during the week of 12 April, we review the publication of positive economic data and developed equity market outperformance (with the exception of Japan) in the past 30 days.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 20 April
2 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share1.533.646.4110.2233.264.076.78
Euro Stoxx 501.384.9412.5214.1347.298.859.32
S&P 5001.395.7311.4911.9152.0118.2417.24
Japan Topix0.07-0.286.479.5340.626.559.99
MSCI Asia Pac.1.01-0.26-0.774.9354.269.9014.37
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.770.15-0.374.7956.027.9312.76
Jo’burg All Shares2.362.899.5417.2046.2910.138.67
UK Gov’t Bonds0.160.39-4.95-6.30-6.273.313.10
US Gov’t Bonds0.370.52-2.41-3.47-4.514.512.33
Global Corp. Bonds0.250.99-1.76-2.425.796.064.88
Emerg. Mkt. Local Currency Bonds1.040.85-3.55-4.5011.751.383.61

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 16/4/2021.

Following a year where economic data and stock markets performance seemed to lose any link, although economic recoveries remain fragile, stock markets are once again trading at new record highs.

While this included the UK, which surpassed the 7,000 level on Friday 16 April, it is the US that continues to set the lead in terms of economic data and stock market performance. Here, US retail sales jumped 9.8% in March as households received their stimulus cheques and lockdowns continued to ease on the back of the vaccine rollout, with the US having now provided one dose to 40% to its population and 25% fully vaccinated. And while headline US inflation only increased 0.6% in March, the biggest monthly increase since August 2012, this takes the year-on-year rate to 2.6% – significantly above the Federal Reserve’s (Fed) published figure of 2%. However, the Fed’s pre-emptive reassurance detailed in the week in review dated 13 April meant that this did not ruffle feathers among equity or bond investors.

The US also remained in the headlines as it has stated it will pull out troops from Afghanistan by 11 September and since it is imposing sanctions on Russia due to its election interference, the SolarWinds cyber hacking and renewed aggression against bullying Ukraine, among other grievances. Financial penalties include preventing US institutions buying new issues of Russian sovereign bonds, with warnings of more actions being promised if Vladimir Putin’s regime does not change its approach.

Meanwhile, in other vaccine news, the latest provider to face difficulties was Johnson & Johnson as its US pause has fuelled speculation that it is not safe, at the same time as the EU suspended its rollout of the vaccine. While this is the latest of the bloc’s vaccine woes, it puts a Eurozone recovery at risk, at a time when France is now less than a year away from its next national elections, and the recovery package agreed in 2020 has yet to move forward and will not do so until all member states have ratified the required legislation.

In markets, emerging markets (+1%) continue to lag developed markets (+5%) over the past 30 days and, style-wise, growth stocks continued to outperform value (+6% vs +3%) over the same period. Utility stocks (+7%) edged higher than material and technology stocks (both +6%), again over the last 30 days, while energy failed to rebound sufficiently to move into the black (-4%). Small capitalisation stocks returned +1% while the 30 day return for large capitalisation stocks was +4%.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.3 –
UK PMI56.458.2
UK CPI (YoY)0.40.8
EU GDP (QoQ)-0.7 –
EU PMI53.252.8
EU CPI (YoY)1.3 –
US GDP (QoQ)4.35.7
US PMI63.7 –
US CPI (YoY)2.6 –

What’s happened in portfolios?

Going into 2021, the view for many was that the losers of 2020 would shine in 2021 and the year-to-date number supports this: +6% for growth versus +11% for value, as does the UK performance given the FTSE 100 has the highest weighting of value shares of all major world stock markets, which has helped UK stock markets overall outperform (+10% year-to-date). However, investors who remain more broadly diversified are now benefitting from the switch in the past 30 days where growth is up +6% and value ‘only’ up by +3% – a route Nedbank Private Wealth continued to follow.

Meanwhile, one portfolio decision that has been acted on was the choice to take advance of a slight fall in longer-dated yields to allow for a switch into yet more short-duration paper (between one and three years’ maturity), which should hold us in good stead as there is likely to be more news impacting bonds with regard to inflation as prices rebound from the lows caused by the pandemic.

What's happening this week?

All week • Q1 Earnings Season | 22 Apr • ECB Interest Rate Decision • 22 Apr US initial Jobless Claims

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Reuters; (2) US Department of Labor; and (3) Bloomberg.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

Options for uncertain investors

19 Oct

   |   7½ mins

Many clients hesitate to invest. They have often realised the reasons why, but want to hold back given we live in uncertain times. Rebecca Cretney highlights the points she raises in her conversations, as well as the advantages and disadvantages for the options to be considered.

Investing

The week in review

19 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 11 October saw inflation increase higher than had been expected in the US and raised the prospects of action by the Federal Reserve in its November meeting. Meanwhile, growth forecasts for developed markets were cut slightly as supply chain issues continue.

Investing

September's investment market commentary

18 Oct

   |   2 mins

During September, the economic and corporate environment remained positive, however some equity sectors are beginning to look fully valued.

Investing

The week in review

12 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 4 October saw persistent inflation amid signs of slowing economic growth, with fears of stagflation stoked. While the US announced a disappointing new job number for September, but a fall in unemployment.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions