z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Financial markets struggled to make much headway during the week of 15 February, with rising bond yields potentially starting to weigh on other asset classes. The MSCI All Country World Index was down just over -1.50% in Sterling terms and -0.34%. Read our review to find out more.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 23 February
2 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share0.55-0.455.842.84-6.581.816.77
Euro Stoxx 500.503.407.944.82-1.346.298.88
S&P500-0.682.989.474.2217.4314.7717.55
Japan Topix-0.253.9511.896.8918.215.2610.83
MSCI Asia Pac.0.223.9720.2212.2040.8011.9018.51
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.093.5619.5710.7932.808.8917.16
Jo’burg All Shares2.026.1119.1813.6219.798.159.96
UK Gov’t Bonds-1.82-4.67-3.77-5.91-0.894.003.25
US Gov’t Bonds-0.75-1.50-2.59-2.462.985.072.63
Global Corp. Bonds-0.61-1.22-0.79-1.773.946.425.76
Emerg. Mkt. Local Currency Bonds-1.20-0.911.69-1.742.912.236.09

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 19/2/2021.

The UK laid out its roadmap of lockdown restrictions easing, but it was Israeli data that generated the most news. It suggests the risk of becoming ill from the virus dropped by around 96% for those who have had both doses of the Pfizer vaccine, while another study suggested the Pfizer inoculation was around 89% effective at preventing transmission.

This good news was supported by the better-than-expected economic data releases during the week of 15 February. In the US, the January retail sales report showed the strongest monthly rise for six months, although it was likely boosted by the arrival of the last stimulus checks, as well as an easing of some restrictions. However, the announcement of flash purchasing managers’ indexes (PMI) showed the recovery globally remains patchy as although the US posted its highest PMI reading since March 2015 – with services, in particular, coming in above expectations – the Eurozone services index showed the sector continues to struggle under lockdown restrictions, although the manufacturing index remained constant. The US economy is also likely to be boosted further by the next stimulus package, which should be voted through by the House on Friday 26 February, before progressing to the Senate shortly afterwards.

While there are concerns that the additional stimulus may lead to inflation, the latest Federal Reserve (Fed) minutes showed that the US central bank is not overly concerned, with the report pointing to “temporary factors affecting inflation” data releases, such as the base effect from lower oil prices last year. However, the Fed did acknowledge that downside risks over the medium term from the pandemic are now being mitigated by the vaccine and the recent change in the outlook for fiscal support. Risks were also at the forefront of European Central Bankers’ minds as they flagged higher bond yields may result in stock prices becoming vulnerable. As such, its president, Christine Lagarde, noted that the central bank is now closely monitoring the evolution of longer-term nominal bond yields.

Equity markets all ended the week of 15 February in negative territory, apart from the UK (+0.88%). The US (-1.92%) lagged the most. At a sector level, cyclicals fared better than stable earners, with energy (+1.76%), financials (+0.80%) and materials (+0.33%) topping the performance tables. The underperformers were the more interest rate sensitive sectors, such as healthcare (-3.38%), utilities (-2.83%) and consumer staples (-2.32%). As such, value (-0.65%) outpaced growth (-2.33%) given energy and financial stocks currently form a large part of the value index, as they do in the FTSE 100, which also helps explain why UK equities had a good week.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.00.5
UK PMI49.8
UK CPI (YoY)0.7
EU GDP (QoQ)-0.6
EU PMI48.1
EU CPI (YoY)0.9-0.3
US GDP (QoQ)4
US PMI58.7
US CPI (YoY)1.41.5

What’s happened in portfolios?

The equity allocation of portfolios performed well during the week of 15 February, helped by in particular by solid contributions from our cyclical developed market and emerging market exposures.

The sharp steepening of the yield curve saw bonds generally losing ground, especially longer-dated sovereign and investment grade credit. An exception was high yield debt, which tends to outperform in periods of recovery and reflation. Shorter-dated treasuries also avoided a loss as their yields were well-anchored by the Fed funds rate.

Overall, it was a good week for the relative performance of our bond holdings, given the strong bias we have to shorter-dated bonds, with our short duration high yield positions performing well.

Meanwhile, rising interest rates caused a little bit of pressure for property securities, which can sometimes be quite sensitive to shifts in interest rates. The ongoing cash raise by Target Healthcare continues to temporarily supress the share prices of the two care homes funds, although this is set to close on Thursday 25 February.

What's happening this week?

23 Feb • EU Consumer Price Index | 25 Feb • EU Consumer Confidence | 26 Feb • US Personal Income

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Reuters; and (2) Bloomberg. All figures are quoted in Sterling terms unless otherwise stated.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

2 Mar

   |   2 mins

The MSCI AC World was down -2.8% in Sterling terms and -3.3% in US Dollar terms, as emerging markets led the declines, while developed markets held up slightly better. But all eyes were really on the bond market as we detail here.

Investing

Risks remain, but equities could climb higher

17 Feb

   |   5 mins

The future of equity values is always a topic for debate. And while some believe that there will soon be a significant fall in the value of shares, Rebecca Cretney explains why we believe that, although risks remain, that is not necessarily the case.

Investing

Why should you pay someone to manage your money?

17 Feb

   |   3 mins

Richie Griffiths considers the benefits of paying someone to manage your money, and suggests what you should look for when choosing an investment or wealth manager to help you with your finances.

Investing

The week in review

16 Feb

   |   2½ mins

The MSCI AC World Index rose by +0.8% in Sterling terms and +1.8% in US Dollar terms during the week of 8 February as major equity markets again delivered positive returns. Read our review to understand more.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Give us a call today on +44 (0)1624 645000 or please complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.

Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm UK time, except for UK public holidays.

* Required field

Search suggestions

IMPORTANT

Beware of scams using Nedbank Private Wealth’s name.

 

Have you received an email or SMS claiming to be from Nedbank Private Wealth, inviting you to open an account?

 

Don’t be tricked – Nedbank Private Wealth never contacts members of the public directly, and will never use email or text messages to ask you for your bank details or sensitive personal information.

 

We are aware of scams using our name and those of our staff. These are usually intended to convince you to send money to the scammers, who use our name because it sounds legitimate.

 

If you are in any doubt about whether an email or SMS in our name is legitimate, please speak to your private banker, or call the telephone numbers on the “Contact us” page.