z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The global outlook remains highly challenging, with the upward surge in inflation and mixed economic data increasing expectations of further interest rate hikes from central banks.
Published 24 August
4½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share0.404.194.051.435.915.284.34
Euro Stoxx 50-1.234.053.03-10.63-6.416.444.84
S&P 500-1.167.588.85-10.40-2.6014.9313.73
Japan Topix1.084.837.401.517.6812.736.98
MSCI Asia Pac.-1.301.030.75-16.89-16.584.222.34
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-1.472.670.38-16.74-16.053.551.62
Jo’burg All Shares-1.083.322.86-2.7410.7112.828.55
UK Gov’t Bonds-2.15-0.68-6.18-15.34-17.60-5.39-1.36
US Gov’t Bonds-0.700.17-0.90-9.24-10.25-1.780.54
Global Corp. Bonds-1.190.97-0.19-11.44-12.35-1.321.43
Emerg. Mkt. Local-2.442.82-0.84-12.09-14.35-3.97-1.36
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 19/08/2022.

The week of 15 August was another interesting one on the US economic front. Data continued to be mixed but was supportive overall, with initial jobless claims down and the Philadelphia Fed Business Outlook, a gauge of factory activity in the US mid-Atlantic region, surprising on the upside for August. However, existing home sales fell for a sixth consecutive month, dropping 5.9% to a seasonally adjusted annual rate of 4.81 million in July, the lowest since May 2020, reflecting the impact of Federal Reserve (Fed) tightening.

On the policy front, Fed members seemed to differ on the next base rate hike, with expectations of 50 or 75 basis points at the Fed meeting in September. There was agreement, however, on the current inflationary pressures and that it is too early to declare victory over rising prices, meaning the case for tightening remains strong despite the lagged impact it may have.

In terms of UK economic data, it was a grim week. The August index score for UK consumer confidence from data provider GfK plunged to its lowest level since comparable records began, nearly 50 years ago, as the cost-of-living crisis stoked concerns over personal finances and economic prospects.  Consumer price inflation was announced on Wednesday 17 August and surged to 10.1% for July (from 9.4% in June).  This exceeded economists’ expectations and is the first time it has reached double digits in over forty years. Finally, on Friday 19 August, UK retail sales volumes picked up slightly by 0.3% in July, significantly higher than economists’ expectations, but continued to show longer-term signs of consumers cutting back in the face of soaring inflation.

The cost-of-living crisis is also affecting mainland Europe and inflation continues to rise. The situation is exacerbated by a number of issues: rising gas prices, affecting Germany in particular and drought conditions drying up rivers that, in turn, hamper distribution.

A slowing Chinese economy and US interest rates expected to end the year in the 3.50 to 3.75% range give no signs of the global economic situation easing.

In terms of corporate news, the final few companies reported and again results were mixed. Walmart and Home Depot earnings were strong, painting a healthy picture of the US consumer, but Target and Deere disappointed, cooling market enthusiasm.

In other news, president Recep Tayyip Erdogan of Turkey continued his attempts to assert himself as a key middleman in negotiations with president Vladimir Putin, after he held talks with Ukrainian and UN officials. It is now six months since Putin started his “special operation” in Ukraine.

On a lighter note, Manchester United became the latest “acquisition target” of Elon Musk when he joked on Twitter about buying a stake from the Glazer family.

In markets, growth stocks (+5.7%) were slightly ahead of value (+4.8%) over the last 30 days but continued to lag over the longer term. There was little difference in performance between large capitalisation (+5.2%) and small capitalisation (+5.4%) stocks. In terms of sector, utilities (+9.9%) led, but energy (+8.2%) was not far behind, despite oil (-8.0%) continuing to struggle in the face of recessionary fears. Communication services (-0.8%) continued to lag and was the only sector in negative territory over the last 30 days. Developed markets (+5.6%) continued to outperform emerging markets (+1.9%), both in the short and longer term.

Bonds have done reasonably well with yields falling further, but it is worth noting that this trend is beginning to reverse. Investment grade credit (+0.8%) has outperformed government bonds (+0.4%), given rising yields on the back of the prospect of more hawkish central banks.

Sterling weakened against the US dollar on the back of runaway UK inflation and the fall in UK consumer confidence. The US and UK yield curves continued to invert further.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)-0.1
UK PMI52.151.0
UK CPI (YoY)10.1
EU GDP (QoQ)0.6
EU PMI49.949.0
EU CPI (YoY)8.9
US GDP (QoQ)-0.9-0.9
US PMI56.7
US CPI (YoY)8.5

What’s happened in portfolios?

It remains a fairly challenged environment for equities with clear headwinds present. We feel it is a good time to lock in the relative gains from our value position and tilt our equity positioning towards quality focused strategies. To put this in perspective in terms of our positioning, we’ve been rotating slightly to reduce our slight overweight to value to benefit from quality positions, which should fare better in this high inflation environment where you need more pricing power. For example, having a bias to US large cap quality defensive stocks via our increasing holding in the iShares Core S&P 500 ETF and Morgan Stanley Global Brands has been encouraging to performance.

Within fixed income, the significant upward shift in yields, on the prospect of more hawkish central banks, has made fixed income more attractive. Our investment grade credit holdings have outperformed our government bond holdings.

Real assets remain attractive as an alternative to fixed income and with some inflation protection. In particular, we want to highlight our niche position in defensive direct real estate with Empiric Student Property, which released an impressive first-half net asset value (NAV) up 10% and better than expected earnings per share, driven by a recovery in occupancy rates.

Alternative strategies continue to provide a credible diversifier within portfolios. Princess Private Equity published its half-year report with NAV down 7.5%, largely due to market volatility, but it has compared favourably to public markets.

What's happening this week?

23 August • EU S&P Global PMI (August) | 23 August • UK S&P Global PMI (August) | 25 August • US Initial Jobless Claims

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) UK Office for National Statistics and (4) Financial Times.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

26 Sep

   |   3 mins

The markets felt the tremors from a continuing chain of seismic rate rises across the world – plus the UK government’s move to rip up the budgetary rule-book – in the week of 19 September 2022.

Investing

Are equities cheap or expensive?

20 Sep

   |   5 mins

Should I invest now or wait for greater falls? Rebecca Cretney discusses some of the questions she gets asked and explains why personal financial advice can prove far more valuable than economic forecasts.

Investing

The week in review

13 Sep

   |   5½ mins

The week of 5 September saw further monetary tightening as central banks continued to raise interest rates to curb inflation. While on the fiscal front, governments announced packages to support consumers in the face of soaring energy prices.

Investing

August's investment market commentary

6 Sep

   |   3 mins

August started promisingly with risk assets supported by encouraging economic data from the US. But focus soon shifted to the further deterioration of Europe’s energy situation, increasing the prospect of much slower economic growth, higher inflation and higher interest rates.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions