z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

As inflation showed signs of peaking, focus turned to slowing economic growth and recession fears. Although further rate rises and hawkish statements from central banks upset markets and signalled higher rates would be here to stay for some time yet to bring inflation down to target levels.
Published 20 December
5 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share-1.87-0.381.45-1.430.691.853.12
Euro Stoxx 50-3.52-1.809.16-8.42-6.323.204.59
S&P 500-2.05-2.53-0.11-17.90-16.168.199.45
Japan Topix-0.58-0.661.680.36-0.546.454.12
MSCI Asia Pac.-1.902.373.25-19.05-18.32-0.240.31
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-2.090.551.85-19.89-19.17-1.52-0.33
Jo’burg All Shares-1.970.129.373.847.1413.088.88
UK Gov’t Bonds-1.38-2.94-1.33-22.20-24.23-7.21-3.06
US Gov’t Bonds0.681.920.82-10.71-10.89-1.980.26
Global Corp. Bonds0.152.281.90-12.45-12.57-1.980.90
Emerg. Mkt. Local-0.052.843.81-11.02-10.59-4.68-1.28
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 16/12/2022.

The week of 12 December started well with improved headline inflation in the US. The consumer price index (CPI) data released on Tuesday 13 December showed inflation cooler than expected up only 0.1% month on month, against the 0.3% increase expected. Annual inflation at 7.1% was the lowest level since December 2021 and below the 7.3% expected. Despite this good news, the Federal Reserve (Fed) went ahead with a 50 basis point increase in interest rates later in the week. Although slower than the 75 basis point increases in its previous four meetings, Fed chair Jerome Powell released a hawkish statement stressing the need for further rate hikes to contain the inflationary pressures of a persistently tight labour market. The number of first-time unemployment claims fell last week to 211,000, a decrease of 20,000 from the previous week. Although a notoriously volatile measure, particularly around the holidays, it is not encouraging news in the battle to rein in inflation.

In the UK, the economy is estimated to have grown by more than expected in October as gross domestic product (GDP) rose by 0.5%, slightly more than the 0.4% anticipated. However, looking at the broader picture, GDP fell by 0.3% in the three months to October 2022 compared with the three months to July 2022. The Bank of England (BoE) also raised its rates by 50 basis points to a 14-year high of 3.5%. This is its ninth consecutive increase, but there was some difference of opinion within the monetary policy committee as six voted for the increase, two voted to leave it unchanged and one voted for a 75 basis points increase. Despite signs UK inflation may have peaked, down to 10.7% in November, the BoE echoed the hawkish sentiment of the Fed.

The story was the same in the EU area as the European Central Bank (ECB) also raised its key interest rate by 50 basis points to 2%. Although lower than its previous two 75 basis point increases, the message from ECB president Christine Lagarde was that rates will still have to rise significantly at a steady pace to bring inflation down to its 2% target.

In terms of corporate news, Oracle Corporation announced better than expected earnings and revenue for its most recent quarter. Revenue came in at US$12.28 billion (above the US$12.05 billion expected) and reported earnings were US$1.21 per share, up on the US$1.18 expected.
In other news, Hong Kong announced an easing of its COVID-19 restrictions and improved freedom of movement following mainland China’s rapid move away from its zero-tolerance policy.
It was another volatile week in markets and equity markets were down overall on the back of the hawkish comments from central banks, as investors became more concerned about the recessionary risks of tighter monetary policy.
This resulted in a broad-based pullback in equity markets over the week of 12 December. Emerging market equities (+0.2%) remained just in positive territory while developed market equities (-1.4%) lagged over the last 30 days. Value stocks (-0.1%) performed slightly better than growth stocks (-2.3%), while large capitalisation stocks (-1.25%) outperformed small capitalisation stocks (-2.2%). Utilities (+4.2%) was the best performing sector, while energy (-6.9%) was the worst, as international oil prices (-11.8%) remained down at the prospect of weakening global demand and the increasing risk of recession. Although falling oil prices should offer better news for lower inflation.
In fixed income markets, government bonds did not react as expected and US Treasuries yields remained fairly flat despite the Fed’s hawkish comments. We saw something of a standoff with the bond market unconvinced the Fed will remain as hawkish as it says. Despite little change in bond yields in the US, European bond yields moved higher over the week on the much more hawkish rhetoric from the ECB.
There was little change in the US dollar over the week, reflecting doubts over how much the Fed can force through in terms of interest rate hikes, and how long it would be able to keep them at a high level.
ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)-0.2-0.2
UK PMI49.0
UK CPI (YoY)10.7
EU GDP (QoQ)0.3
EU PMI48.8
EU CPI (YoY)10.1
US GDP (QoQ)2.92.9
US PMI56.555.0
US CPI (YoY)7.1

What’s happened in portfolios?

The hawkish rhetoric from the Fed and the ECB later in the week started to filter through into equity markets and created a risk off environment more broadly. On the back of that, it was the defensive plays which performed best with our quality focused large capitalisation managers outperforming. They give better margin protection, a possibility of cash flows and less leverage, allowing them to weather a storm if we did start to see a recessionary outlook priced in. With the shift in focus away from inflation towards recession, those companies did particularly well.

Within fixed income, we have recently moved to a small overweight position. As inflation appears to have peaked, investor concerns have switched to economic growth which has increased demand for safe haven assets and been more supportive of fixed income. As yields have fallen, our longer duration funds both in investment grade credit and government bonds have outperformed. As with equities, the higher quality parts of the market performed best.

In terms of real assets, it was the more defensive infrastructure investments that held up well over the last week. This included Atlas Global Infrastructure, which offered good downside protection for portfolios, and the renewable names which are driven by structural tailwinds. The cyclical environment over the last week was particularly supportive of renewables, with Greencoat UK Wind and John Laing Environmental Assets Group performing well and offering a good amount of protection for portfolios. We have taken further steps to reduce the cyclicality within real assets by reducing our exposure to global REITs and UK commercial property. The receipts from these sales were moved into fixed income as another defensive move to reduce the economic sensitivity within real assets and the portfolio.

Within alternative strategies, our energy storage funds, Gore Street Energy Storage Fund and Gresham House, have had a good year and continued to provide a good level of diversification for portfolios. The volatility in energy markets has driven performance enabling them to take advantage of arbitrage opportunities, buying low and then selling higher. This has led to good revenue growth and strong net asset value updates.

What's happening this week?

20 December • EU Consumer Confidence | 21 December • US Consumer Confidence | 22 December • UK GDP Growth Rate

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) Office for National Statistics and (4) US Bureau of Labor Statistics

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

31 Jan

   |   4½ mins

The week of 23 January 2023 saw mixed, but marginally better, economic data. Equities continued their positive run as inflation appears to be cooling and investors hope for signs of a softer landing in 2023.

Investing

UN COP15 Biodiversity Conference – a ‘historic’ deal is reached to protect nature

24 Jan

   |   2½ mins

The recent UN Biodiversity Conference (COP15) saw nations from around the world agree on a package of measures designed to tackle the perilous loss of biodiversity and restore natural ecosystems by 2030. Madhushree Agarwal reflects on how this global framework could support investors in redirecting capital towards more sustainable endeavours.

Investing

The week in review

24 Jan

   |   4½ mins

Signs of cooling inflation continue but investors and policymakers are at odds over the outlook for interest rates. Central banks remain intent on staying the course on monetary policy, despite investor expectations for a reversal.

Investing

2022 global market review

17 Jan

   |   5½ mins

2022 was an extremely challenging year with disappointing equity and bond market returns. High and rising inflation through most of the year led central banks around the world to raise interest rates sharply and put downward pressure on almost all asset classes.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions