z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The week of 11 October saw inflation increase higher than had been expected in the US and raised the prospects of action by the Federal Reserve in its November meeting. Meanwhile, growth forecasts for developed markets were cut slightly as supply chain issues continue.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 19 October
5½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share1.932.244.0415.3929.615.935.37
Euro Stoxx 502.691.133.4820.4834.2412.4810.10
S&P 5001.84-0.122.9020.3830.2419.6818.12
Japan Topix3.16-2.785.1114.2426.528.9910.92
MSCI Asia Pac.1.93-0.72-5.93-1.5712.7113.7711.12
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.2.13-0.17-4.151.3017.2112.5810.26
Jo’burg All Shares2.844.801.5417.2327.2712.379.15
UK Gov’t Bonds1.39-3.65-2.72-7.42-7.443.291.75
US Gov’t Bonds0.29-1.53-1.08-2.71-3.234.992.40
Global Corp. Bonds0.45-1.36-0.84-0.991.176.664.44
Emerg. Mkt. Local0.81-2.32-2.01-6.041.224.312.73

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 15/10/2021.

The most anticipated economic data of the week was released on Wednesday 13 October in the form of the US consumer price index figures for September, which surprised on the upside coming in at 5.4% year-on-year versus the 5.3% forecasted and the August number of 5.3%.

The increase indicates that we are set to still be talking about price increases for some time to come given the number of reasons for the rise, and given the growth of housing-related prices typically prompts more embedded inflation. Meanwhile, food inflation was among the price segments posting higher figures, with the increase the largest since April 2020.

The news led to increased speculation that the Federal Reserve (Fed) would be forced to hike rates earlier than expected. Investors are also pricing in four hikes before the end 2023, which is another hike more than was thought probable earlier in the year. This speculation was reinforced by the release of the September Fed monetary committee minutes, which revealed that the central bank will almost certainly announce tapering at its November meeting and by the release of the US retail sales numbers, which grew 0.7% in September.

In addition to any tightening by the Fed, we could also see the Bank of England make a move, with markets pricing a 0.25% change in the base rate by December and a further increase to 0.5% by March 2022.

Elsewhere, the International Monetary Fund marginally downgraded their global growth forecast for this year to 5.9% from the 6.0% number published in July. The change in view was down in part because of the supply disruptions and, for some low income economies, due to worsening pandemic-related forces at work. The number was partially offset by stronger near-term prospects among some commodity-exporting emerging markets. Maintaining its 2022 economic growth forecast of 4.2%, the supranational body upgraded its inflation forecasts for advanced economies to 2.8% in 2021, and to 2.3% in 2022.

In terms of equity markets, over the past 30 days, sentiment was broadly positive – although more so in developed markets (1.4%) versus emerging markets (0.8%) – given the upbeat start to the Q3 earnings season and falling global COVID-19 cases. As a result, growth stocks (1.7%) outperformed their value (0.8%) counterparts, and small capitalisation stocks (1.8%) beat large capitalisation stocks (1.2%). Sector-wise, materials (3.2%) led the way while communication services (0.0%) lagged.

In fixed income, longer-dated yield curves flattened as the shorter end maturities moved higher due to the prospect of tighter monetary policy and over concerns on longer-term growth. And shorter end yields pushed higher on the expectations of tighter monetary policy

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)5.5
UK PMI54.954.0
UK CPI (YoY)3.23.2
EU GDP (QoQ)2.2
EU PMI56.255.2
EU CPI (YoY)3.43.4
US GDP (QoQ)6.72.3
US PMI61.9
US CPI (YoY)5.4

What’s happened in portfolios?

While we generally see a favourable environment for equities, some regions (such as pan Europe) and styles (such as value and cyclical) are slightly preferred, as are smaller, more domestically focused stocks which we think will benefit more from the pickup in economic activity.

Valuations in fixed income remain challenging given that higher prices mean lower yields. However, our investment grade holdings have outperformed over the short term and our continued preference for credit risk, rather interest rate risk, continues to work in our favour as yields have moved higher.

In the real asset strategies, we continue to see attractive yields – which are enhanced in some cases by structural tailwinds – such as in our care home investments – and given the inflation proofing provided. There are also other aspects that are helping, such as Target Healthcare raising £125 million in an over-subscribed capital raise.

Meanwhile, at Hipgnosis, its partnership with US private equity firm, Blackstone, was well received by the market, with the deal putting US$1 billion of capital in place. In addition, the team will help the fund managers improve song usage, data science and its use of technology, as well as allow the team to bid for larger song catalogues that were beyond its reach on its own. The news is also a vindication of its strategy given it is quite a young asset class.

What's happening this week?

20 Oct • UK CPI | 21 Oct • US Initial Jobless Claims | 22 Oct • EU Markit Composite Flash PMI

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg; and (2) Reuters.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Forward-looking economic data signalled stronger growth in the last full week of November, but concerns over a new COVID-19 variant quickly clouded the outlook.

Investing

The week in review

16 Nov

   |   5 mins

Global inflation dominated news headlines during the week of 8 November, with US prices rising at their fastest rate since 1990, up 6.2% annually, in the face of persistent supply shortages - supply issues that also impacted UK Q3 economic growth.

Investing

What happened in financial markets in October 2021

9 Nov

   |   6 mins

Marking the first in a new series of monthly videos, Rebecca Cretney spoke to Tom Caddick about the positive and negative news affecting financial markets during October 2021 and what that meant for clients’ investment portfolios.

Investing

The week in review

9 Nov

   |   3 mins

Optimism around a strong Q3 earnings season and rising US employment created a positive environment for riskier assets and equities in the week of 1 November.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions