z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

A review of the week of 11 January saw world equities overall down just over -1% in US Dollar and Sterling terms. Read more about the news headlines impacting financial markets.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 19 January
2 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share-2.03.716.33.6-7.4-0.17.4
Euro Stoxx 50-1.22.313.01.4-1.93.27.6
S&P500-1.52.18.60.416.612.717.2
Japan Topix0.14.313.92.99.91.98.2
MSCI Asia Pac0.59.720.85.728.58.917.6
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.38.721.45.222.16.716.9
Jo’burg All Shares0.16.916.27.012.65.19.6
UK Gov’t Bonds0.1-0.4-1.4-1.44.75.04.6
US Gov’t Bonds0.1-0.9-1.6-1.16.05.03.2
Global Corp. Bonds0.2-0.11.5-0.76.86.36.0

Emerg. Mkt. Local Currency Bonds

-0.4-0.26.7-1.03.12.77.0

With high volumes of COVID-19 deaths continuing, Israel leads the pack with around 27% of its population vaccinated. Within the G201, the UK has made the most progress, with 6.5% of the population vaccinated, followed by the US at 3.7%. Europe is lagging behind, with Denmark and Malta only having vaccinated more than 2% of their populations.

On the economic front, data disappointed in the US where weekly initial jobless claims rose to 965,0002, the highest level since August and well above the 789,000 expected. Meanwhile, the US consumer price index for December showed the year-on-year number rise to +1.4%. On a brighter note, China reported its Q4 GDP number3, which rose by 6.5% year-on-year, bringing full year 2020 GDP growth to 2.3%. As such, China is the only major economy to have posted growth. This helped Emerging Markets [+0.14%] outperform their developed peers [-1.58%] given they, especially in Asia, are seen to be recovering more quickly from virus-linked economic lows.

President Trump was impeached for a second time on 13 January, another first in American history1. It remains unclear when the articles of impeachment will start, or if Trump will be convicted, as it requires 17 Republican Senators to agree. Meanwhile, Joe Biden has laid out a US$1.9 trillion stimulus plan1, composed of direct payments to individuals, small business aid, state and local government aid, and funding for a national vaccine rollout, among other initiatives.

Central banks sought to neutralise any fear over a premature increase in interest rates and a subsequent taper tantrum3, with both the Federal Reserve and European Central Bank stating that monetary policy is unlikely to tighten anytime soon.

In terms of style, value stocks [-0.51%] outperformed growth [-2.19%]. This outperformance was mainly driven by energy [+1.21%] and financial stocks [-0.34%], which were among the strongest sectors last week. Oil prices and energy stocks continue to be supported by the OPEC+ deal agreed in December, while financial stocks benefited from higher bond yields and the encouraging Q4 earning results some US financials annnounced during the week of 11 January.

ECONOMICS
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)16.0-2.0
UK PMI50.445.7
UK CPI (YoY)0.30.5
EU GDP (QoQ)12.5-2.2
EU PMI49.147.3
EU CPI (YoY)-0.3-0.3
US GDP (QoQ)33.44.3
US PMI55.355.3
US CPI (YoY)1.41.3
GDP = gross domestic product; PMI = Markit purchasing managers’ index; CPI = consumer price index

What’s happened in portfolios?

Within equities, Morgan Stanley Global Brands and Fundsmith have struggled so far this year as defensive stable earners have lagged the broader market. Thankfully, we sold some exposure to these funds towards the end of 2020 and increased our exposure to TT  and Emerging Markets, and cyclical and value stocks via Dodge and Cox.

Within bonds, our short duration and credit biases had little impact with bond yield and spreads little changed over the week of 11 January.

Our alternatives were mixed but mostly positive last week.  As such, global real estate marginally outperformed, while UK commercial property was hit by the latest lockdowns. The Renewables Infrastructure Group was down after it announced that it had purchased a stake in an offshore wind farm, while Hipgnosis’s acquisition of Shakira’s entire 145 song catalogue was viewed positively. And the GCP Asset Backed Income fund posted strong Q4 2020 results.

What's happening this week?

20 Jan • Joe Biden Inauguration | 22 Jan • Flash PMIs | Earnings update from 43 S&P500 firms.

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Reuters; (2) US Department of Labor; and (3) Bloomberg.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

2 Mar

   |   2 mins

The MSCI AC World was down -2.8% in Sterling terms and -3.3% in US Dollar terms, as emerging markets led the declines, while developed markets held up slightly better. But all eyes were really on the bond market as we detail here.

Investing

The week in review

23 Feb

   |   2 mins

Financial markets struggled to make much headway during the week of 15 February, with rising bond yields potentially starting to weigh on other asset classes. The MSCI All Country World Index was down just over -1.50% in Sterling terms and -0.34%. Read our review to find out more.

Investing

Risks remain, but equities could climb higher

17 Feb

   |   5 mins

The future of equity values is always a topic for debate. And while some believe that there will soon be a significant fall in the value of shares, Rebecca Cretney explains why we believe that, although risks remain, that is not necessarily the case.

Investing

Why should you pay someone to manage your money?

17 Feb

   |   3 mins

Richie Griffiths considers the benefits of paying someone to manage your money, and suggests what you should look for when choosing an investment or wealth manager to help you with your finances.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Give us a call today on +44 (0)1624 645000 or please complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.

Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm UK time, except for UK public holidays.

* Required field

Search suggestions

IMPORTANT

Beware of scams using Nedbank Private Wealth’s name.

 

Have you received an email or SMS claiming to be from Nedbank Private Wealth, inviting you to open an account?

 

Don’t be tricked – Nedbank Private Wealth never contacts members of the public directly, and will never use email or text messages to ask you for your bank details or sensitive personal information.

 

We are aware of scams using our name and those of our staff. These are usually intended to convince you to send money to the scammers, who use our name because it sounds legitimate.

 

If you are in any doubt about whether an email or SMS in our name is legitimate, please speak to your private banker, or call the telephone numbers on the “Contact us” page.