z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Astonishing developments in UK politics and setbacks in the US battle with inflation triggered further wild swings in the markets in the week of 10 October 2022.
Published 17 October
2½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share-1.89-6.23-2.47-8.45-5.791.271.57
Euro Stoxx 500.19-5.10-0.17-18.86-15.741.171.88
S&P 500-1.53-9.09-5.07-23.88-18.038.238.90
Japan Topix-0.45-1.631.23-2.47-2.078.454.54
MSCI Asia Pac.-4.16-11.56-13.46-29.37-30.60-2.43-2.20
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-3.81-10.17-9.85-28.00-29.65-2.76-2.54
Jo’burg All Shares-2.00-4.481.50-8.780.899.405.97
UK Gov’t Bonds-1.82-10.73-18.29-29.38-28.20-10.80-4.48
US Gov’t Bonds-0.77-3.28-5.55-14.14-14.05-3.37-0.52
Global Corp. Bonds-1.34-4.81-6.34-17.85-17.84-3.69-0.21
Emerg. Mkt. Local-1.46-5.23-3.12-18.13-19.43-6.71-2.96
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 14/10/2022.

Hopes of a breakthrough against relentless inflation were crushed by higher-than-expected US consumer and producer price index data. CPI jumped by 0.4% in September, double what economists had expected, and the core measure rose by 0.6%. PPI growth was 0.4%, again twice the anticipated rise. Weekly unemployment claims were marginally higher than expected, at 228,000.

Turmoil swept the UK political and economic landscape. The government successively unpicked elements of last month’s mini-budget in an attempt to calm the markets, after its unfunded tax cut plans hit sterling and gilt yields. With the Bank of England’s temporary support for bonds due to end on Friday 14 October, the Chancellor, Kwasi Kwarteng, was abruptly ousted. His replacement, Jeremy Hunt, is due to set out a medium-term fiscal plan during the week of 17 October; the likely effect is tax rises, a complete reversal of the mini-budget’s direction.

The biggest corporate news was PepsiCo’s hike in profit and sales outlook for the rest of the year, on the back of positive third-quarter earnings. The group now expects full-year revenue growth of 12% and earnings-per-share growth of 10%.

The week saw big shifts in bond and equities markets. The prospect of a Federal Reserve pivot on interest rate hikes had boosted stocks, but continuing acceleration of prices wiped out those gains. The market rallied again, however, following the higher-than-expected inflation figures, notching up a swing of 5.5% on the S&P500 Index within a single day.

Overall, developed markets (-7.8%) are outperforming emerging markets (-12.7%), while value stocks (-6.7%) are faring better than growth (-9.9%). Small capitalisation stocks are down by -8.5% and large by -8.0%. Energy is the best-performing sector (+0.5%) and oil has rallied again (+3.0%). Utilities (-16.3%) and global property (-14.3%) are faring worst.

Global government bond returns dropped (-3.1%), with short duration continuing to outperform (1-3 years -0.8%, 7-10 years -3.0%). Investment grade (-4.5%) and high yield bonds (-4.7%) also suffered. Longer-duration UK bond yields increased as the Bank of England warned pension funds of the Friday deadline for its temporary support.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)0.2
UK PMI49.1
UK CPI (YoY)9.910.0
EU GDP (QoQ)0.8
EU PMI48.1
EU CPI (YoY)10.010.0
US GDP (QoQ)-0.62.0
US PMI56.7
US CPI (YoY)8.2

What’s happened in portfolios?

With equity markets facing headwinds, the portfolio has been more defensively positioned than usual. But our value managers, such as Dodge & Cox, have outperformed given the recent upward shift in yields.

We remain broadly neutral in fixed income, having started the year underweight. We benefited on a relative basis from the fixed income swings noted above. Although longer-dated credit and government bonds have suffered as inflation continues to surprise to the upside.

Real assets are still favoured, providing inflation protection and better long-term visibility of earnings. Investment trusts came under pressure at the start of the week due to the UK chaos, but recovered as the government changed tack.

In alternative assets, Hipgnosis announced a share repurchase programme, reflecting management’s view that it is underpriced. While this may put net asset value under pressure, we see the move as a good value opportunity.

Market volatility continues to make cash more attractive at present, so it can be swiftly redeployed when opportunities arise.

What's happening this week?

18 October • US Industrial Production | 19 October • UK Consumer Price Index | 19 October • EU Consumer Price Index

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) US Department of Labor and (4) Financial Times

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Investing

The week in review

15 Nov

   |   4 mins

Equity markets saw their biggest rally in two years after the US consumer price index for October came in better than expected and raised investor hopes that inflation has peaked.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions