z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

With the International Monetary Fund stating that most advanced economies will emerge from the pandemic with little lasting damage, as they have proved more resilient than many expected, we look back ad events and financial markets during the week of 5 April.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 13 April
2 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share2.683.492.768.5626.013.686.87
Euro Stoxx 500.905.299.6512.5841.288.6610.07
S&P5002.756.688.3510.3850.4818.6717.30
Japan Topix-0.622.976.499.4541.046.7311.20
MSCI Asia Pac.-0.600.58-1.273.8853.999.5914.89
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-0.561.12-1.433.3353.427.4413.26
Jo’burg All Shares0.06-1.357.0914.5043.979.758.86
UK Gov’t Bonds0.35-0.67-5.04-6.45-6.443.063.00
US Gov’t Bonds0.11-0.34-2.67-3.82-4.094.302.23
Global Corp. Bonds0.300.50-1.79-2.667.555.974.88
Emerg. Mkt. Local Currency Bonds1.080.79-4.89-5.4910.571.023.65

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 9/4/2021.

In a week that saw the International Monetary Fund now forecasting 6% global growth in 2021, versus the 5.5% forecast in January, economic stimulus packages continued to dominate the news flow as the US$2 trillion infrastructure plan was published. Following on from the US$1.9 trillion package agreed in March, it resulted in yet more concerns about a steep uptick in inflation, which the Federal Reserve (Fed) sought to ease.

Here, the Fed reiterated it will continue buying US$120 billion of bonds each month and keep interest rates low until the central bank sees “substantial further progress” towards its employment and inflation targets. The US employment data highlighted how long this might take given there are around 9.5 million fewer Americans with jobs in February 2021 than in February 2020 and it would take over two years to return to pre-pandemic employment levels if jobs continue to (only) be added at the current rate. The news that the ISM non-manufacturing purchasing managers’ index surged to 63.7 in March from 55.3 in February, its fastest rate of expansion on record, has not changed views on this timeline.

To help pay for government support, the US president, Joe Biden, flagged the biggest multinationals should pay tax to the governments of countries in which their sales occur, with a 21% global minimum being proposed by US Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen. This comes amidst the negotiations in Congress to lift the US corporation tax rate to 28%, versus the current 21%, although the end result may be 25%.

Elsewhere, the release of purchasing managers’ index data showed that the services sector is showing much better growth than previously, with the EU number rising to 49.6 in March, up significantly from February’s 45.7 and versus expectations. The UK posted a reading of 56.3, well above February’s final reading of 49.5. China, meanwhile, suffered a knock in confidence on the news that its vaccine is the least effective of those being distributed to date, while concerns about links of the AstraZeneca/Oxford University vaccine to blood clots have also slowed its roll out beyond most of Europe and the UK.

In markets, emerging markets continue to lag developed markets. Style-wise, growth stocks staged a small comeback and have outperformed value since 9 March 2021 (+6% vs +4%). Technology stocks highlighted this style change, posting growth of +8% over the same period, while energy lagged (-5%) as oil prices moved lower. This was on the back of OPEC+ agreeing to gradually increase supplies by two million barrels/day between May and July. This surprised the market, which had expected the previously agreed cuts to remain in place for longer.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.3 –
UK PMI56.4 –
UK CPI (YoY)0.4 –
EU GDP (QoQ)-0.7 –
EU PMI53.2 –
EU CPI (YoY)1.31.3
US GDP (QoQ)4.3 –
US PMI63.7 –
US CPI (YoY)1.72.5

What’s happened in portfolios?

The resurgence in the price of growth stocks highlights how important it is for us to remain sufficiently diversified and provide clients with a balanced portfolio across styles. While it would have been easy to tilt portfolios towards value, portfolios can benefit from both sides of the trade.

The news of heightened inflation expectations has continued to affect bonds yields, where the curve is steepening. With people expecting yields to rise in the future, prices fell given existing bonds have contracts providing lower yields than new issuances. As such, our short duration focus means we are less exposed than many to the risks posed by increasing interest rates pushing up yields.

In further good news, our property investments have posted better performance in recent week. In particular, the UK-focused BMO Property Trust expected to see greater certainty around rental collections, even though 85% of rent has already been collected and the team expects more to come through as accounts gets settled on the back of UK non-essential shops opening and tourism returning.

What's happening this week?

All week • Q1 Earnings Season | 14 Apr • EU Industrial Production | 15 Apr • US Retail Sales

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Reuters; (2) Markit Research; and (3) Bloomberg.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

20 Apr

   |   2 mins

Looking back at events and financial markets during the week of 12 April, we review the publication of positive economic data and developed equity market outperformance (with the exception of Japan) in the past 30 days.

Investing

March's investment market commentary

14 Apr

   |   3 mins

March, as with the quarter as a whole, posted strong returns for riskier assets. Equity markets continued their rise, albeit with some notable sector rotation along the way, which Tom Caddick’s update explains.

Investing

Quarter end investment webinar: opportunities and threats for investors

8 Apr

   |   45 mins

David McFadzean was joined by Tom Caddick to talk through the investment trends from Q1 2021 in financial markets, how these might continue to impact investors and what that meant for portfolios in a session moderated by Karen Bennett.

Investing

Could scientists help your approach to investing?

31 Mar

   |   6½ mins

With scientific research making headlines, Rebecca Cretney and Simon Prescott explore how scientists’ approach to patient care could be applied to the approach investors take to select portfolios.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Give us a call today on +44 (0)1624 645000 or please complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.

Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm UK time, except for UK public holidays.

* Required field

Search suggestions

IMPORTANT

Beware of scams using Nedbank Private Wealth’s name.

 

Have you received an email or SMS claiming to be from Nedbank Private Wealth, inviting you to open an account?

 

Don’t be tricked – Nedbank Private Wealth never contacts members of the public directly, and will never use email or text messages to ask you for your bank details or sensitive personal information.

 

We are aware of scams using our name and those of our staff. These are usually intended to convince you to send money to the scammers, who use our name because it sounds legitimate.

 

If you are in any doubt about whether an email or SMS in our name is legitimate, please speak to your private banker, or call the telephone numbers on the “Contact us” page.