z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The focus on inflation continues, as US prices rose at the fastest pace since 1982, amid increasing speculation the Federal Reserve could raise interest rates four times in 2022.
Published 18 January
3 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share0.193.934.131.1914.487.895.12
Euro Stoxx 50-0.743.183.31-0.5220.3215.168.49
S&P 500-0.290.725.41-2.1124.5723.8717.55
Japan Topix-0.900.32-0.34-0.747.8211.487.46
MSCI Asia Pac.2.422.37-0.111.84-8.8312.4810.98
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.2.583.03-0.412.09-6.2210.979.81
Jo’burg All Shares1.665.1212.811.9922.6315.9810.96
UK Gov’t Bonds0.47-4.620.00-1.64-5.452.542.35
US Gov’t Bonds-0.17-2.00-1.68-1.77-2.863.482.62
Global Corp. Bonds-0.33-1.92-1.71-1.73-1.765.804.37
Emerg. Mkt. Local0.900.76-1.440.14-7.102.063.39

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 14/1/2022.

The week of 10 January continued in the same tone as the year started with the focus on inflation and interest rates. In terms of economic data, the US inflation rate reached its highest level in almost 40 years with the year-on-year figure up 7%, and very much on an upward trend. We must be conscious though that a large part of this is due to base effects (where the percentage increase seems higher as it is based on a low starting figure) and supply constraints because of the pandemic. These rates will come down it is just the speed at which this will happen that’s impacting markets. The market is pricing in four interest rate rises in 2022 as the Federal Reserve (Fed) realise they are slightly behind the curve and we’re increasingly seeing that in the rhetoric coming through.

The two themes dominated the markets – inflation and what the Fed is doing about interest rates. Several Fed members spoke last week, including Fed chairman Jerome Powell at his renomination hearing on Tuesday 11 January.  Powell indicated the central bank would do whatever it takes to prevent inflation becoming entrenched. There was further hawkish rhetoric from a number of Fed speakers with markets now pricing in a strong chance of an interest rate hike in March and an indication that other pandemic-era economic support programmes will be unwound.

In corporate news, BlackRock’s assets under management surged past US$10 trillion due to flows into both its active and passive strategies. Like all asset managers they have benefitted from rising markets and strong inflows during 2021.

In the UK, there was positive news on the COVID-19 front regarding the spread of the Omicron variant, with case numbers falling over the week and the total number of patients in hospital on the decline. This bodes well for the proposed loosening of rules and restrictions on Wednesday 26 January, and a potential move from pandemic to an endemic phase.

In terms of markets, the hawkish tone from the Fed has put further pressure on growth stocks (-4%), particularly the longer duration stocks, while value stocks are up (+5%) over the last 30 days. We’re seeing a real division in markets at the moment due to the direction of interest rates and concerns over inflation. Developed markets remained flat (0%) over the last 30 days, which reflected the big differences in sector performance so far this year. Energy stocks (+16%) led the way on the back of oil price increases and the ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine. Financial stocks were also well supported, but IT stocks were down (-4%) as the higher duration IT sector underperformed.

The expectations of higher interest rates this year has obviously impacted fixed income markets negatively, but especially within global government bonds (-1.9%) and global investment grade (-1.7%) over the last 30 days. Global high yield (-0.5%) outperformed on a relative basis but was still down.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.1
UK PMI53.6
UK CPI (YoY)5.15.2
EU GDP (QoQ)2.2
EU PMI53.3
EU CPI (YoY)5.05.0
US GDP (QoQ)2.35.8
US PMI62.0
US CPI (YoY)7.0

What’s happened in portfolios?

In terms of our portfolio positioning, there have been no significant shifts since the end of December when we slightly increased our equity positioning with a specific focus on cyclical value, which proved timely and played out well for investment outcomes.

We remain well positioned in terms of inflation and the current environment, particularly within equities where our bias to value has helped given the recent drawdown in growth stocks.

In terms of fixed income, our favoured short duration strategy continues to come through in terms of performance. We retain our preference for taking credit risk rather than duration risk.

Real assets, in particular infrastructure and property, remain attractive as an alternative to fixed income and also offer a level of inflation protection. Our commercial property fund, BMO Commercial Property Trust, which was a strong performer in 2021 has had a good start to the year, with an improving discount rate and management purchasing more of their own shares.

Our alternative strategies, particularly private equity, also continue to provide diversification with upside potential as economies reopen.

What's happening this week?

19 Jan • UK Consumer Price Index (December) | 20 Jan • US Initial Jobless Claims | 20 Jan • EU Consumer Price Index (December)

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg , (2) Reuters and (3) Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

17 May

   |   7 mins

The week of 9 May saw global equities sink for a sixth consecutive week as fears of a US recession added to the ongoing concerns over soaring inflation, coronavirus lockdowns in China, and Russia’s continuing invasion of Ukraine.

Investing

The week in review

10 May

   |   7¾ mins

The week of 2 May saw continued volatility in markets. Global stocks and bonds retreated as US and UK central banks raised their base rates again in an attempt to curb inflation pressures.

Investing

April's investment market commentary

9 May

   |   2 mins

April proved to be a difficult month for markets as concerns over global growth surfaced. While underlying economic fundamentals remained broadly healthy, the impact of high inflation and rising interest rates are without doubt headwinds for confidence, consumer spending, and therefore growth going forward.

Investing

The week in review

26 Apr

   |   3½ mins

Global economic prospects have worsened according to the International Monetary Fund, which downgraded its global growth forecasts for 2022 and 2023 as a result of the ongoing Ukraine crisis and slowing growth in China.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions