z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

We review the week starting 5 July, which was a mixed time for global stocks due to ongoing concerns about the spread of the Delta variant of COVID-19, and as signs of an economic slowdown in China took their toll.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 12 July
2 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share0.150.803.7912.6825.142.356.56
Euro Stoxx 50-0.34-0.573.7216.7727.858.6910.89
S&P 5000.423.686.2017.2340.7718.3517.65
Japan Topix-2.25-2.19-2.297.1425.466.2212.08
MSCI Asia Pac.-2.52-3.34-1.891.9522.7810.9013.99
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.-2.59-3.59-0.143.2124.709.8112.64
Jo’burg All Shares0.13-1.82-0.8913.4822.177.898.65
UK Gov’t Bonds0.561.051.58-4.98-5.633.211.87
US Gov’t Bonds0.440.751.91-1.99-3.104.852.11
Global Corp. Bonds0.280.962.25-0.473.076.814.55
Emerg. Mkt. Local-0.56-2.781.17-4.394.044.023.38

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 9/7/2021.

In UK news, the government announced that “Freedom Day” and the removal of all COVID-19 restrictions will go ahead on Monday 19 July, although Prime Minister Boris Johnson has hinted at the possibility of some “extra precautions”. Despite the increases in COVID-19 cases and hospitalisations, there are some reports that the pace of increase may be slowing. UK growth was weaker than expected with gross domestic product expanding by only 0.8% in May, down from 2.3% in April. The economic gains made from the reopening of the hospitality and leisure sectors were offset by the retail, construction and manufacturing industries, which are struggling with labour shortages, supply chain delays and global microchip shortages.

In the US, the ISM non-manufacturing purchasing managers’ index (the measure of the US services sector) came in at a weaker-than-expected 60.1 for June (versus the 63.5 expected). But, it still remains well in expansion territory. The minutes of the Federal Reserve’s (Fed) open market operations committee meeting in June revealed a heated debate over whether the time was right for the central bank to start tapering asset prices – and to reduce its US$120 billion a month of emergency debt purchases.

In the Eurozone, the economy continued to open up from COVID-19 related restrictions. The composite purchasing managers’ index hit a 15-year high at 59.5 in June, up from 57.1 in May. This latest strengthening of the index reflects increased levels of output across both manufacturing and service sectors. Meanwhile, following a strategic review, the European Central Bank adjusted its inflation target to 2%, the first change since 2003. The new target is described as symmetric, which means the central bank is required to respond when inflation falls below or above the target. This strategy change is intended to give the policymakers more flexibility to keep interest rates at historic lows for longer.

Japanese equities have continued to underperform with a worrying increase in COVID-19 cases and a relatively slow uptake of vaccinations. With the Tokyo Olympics due to start on Friday 23 July, the Japanese government announced that the games will go ahead but without spectators, as Tokyo will be under a state of emergency.

In markets, developed markets (+2%) outperformed emerging markets (-4%) over the past 30 days. Style-wise, there was oscillation between growth and value, with growth stocks (+4%) retaining a lead over value (-2%) versus the same period 30 days prior, with information technology (+7%) leading the charge. Financials (-3%) and energy (-4%) lagged. Large capitalisation stocks posted +2% returns for the past 30 days versus the -1% for small capitalisation stocks.

In terms of fixed income, we have seen a slight reversal where we see falling sovereign bond yields which have helped longer dated credit, and, likewise, investment grade credit has outperformed high yield, in part due to the greater interest rate sensitivity in that part of the market.

In other market trends, the US Dollar has continued to strengthen and oil has traded higher, partly as a result of the OPEC+ talks falling through.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)-1.6
UK PMI62.2
UK CPI (YoY)2.1 2.2
EU GDP (QoQ)-0.3
EU PMI59.5
EU CPI (YoY)1.91.9
US GDP (QoQ)6.4
US PMI60.1
US CPI (YoY)5.04.9

What’s happened in portfolios?

The recent oscillation within the growth and value space has emphasised the importance of having a diversified approach within equities. Our balanced positioning within equities remains important.

On the fixed income front, bond yields have fallen slightly and our short duration bias has dampened performance slightly. But solid gains in investment grade credit and our alternatives have helped to offset this. The recent shift to further tilt portfolios to these positions allows us to mitigate duration risk for very little reduction in yield.

In property, Impact Healthcare announced it had agreed a new revolving credit facility, which restructures their finances slightly to possibly look to tee up some investments later this year.

What's happening this week?

14 Jul • UK Retail Price Index | 15 Jul • Fed Chair Powell Testimony | 16 Jul • EU Balance of Trade

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg; and (2) Reuters.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

Options for uncertain investors

19 Oct

   |   7½ mins

Many clients hesitate to invest. They have often realised the reasons why, but want to hold back given we live in uncertain times. Rebecca Cretney highlights the points she raises in her conversations, as well as the advantages and disadvantages for the options to be considered.

Investing

The week in review

19 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 11 October saw inflation increase higher than had been expected in the US and raised the prospects of action by the Federal Reserve in its November meeting. Meanwhile, growth forecasts for developed markets were cut slightly as supply chain issues continue.

Investing

September's investment market commentary

18 Oct

   |   2 mins

During September, the economic and corporate environment remained positive, however some equity sectors are beginning to look fully valued.

Investing

The week in review

12 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 4 October saw persistent inflation amid signs of slowing economic growth, with fears of stagflation stoked. While the US announced a disappointing new job number for September, but a fall in unemployment.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions