z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The Federal Reserve and Bank of England raised base rates again in their attempts to contain persistent inflation. But the central banks took contrasting views on the outlook for further rate increases, dashing hopes of an early pivot in US monetary policy.
Published 8 November
4 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share3.803.44-1.96-2.02-0.542.862.84
Euro Stoxx 502.165.96-1.50-11.43-12.053.093.18
S&P 500-3.31-0.41-8.79-19.85-18.188.749.72
Japan Topix0.860.450.27-1.47-4.367.253.73
MSCI Asia Pac.5.07-2.24-14.10-28.73-30.50-3.70-2.34
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.4.68-0.89-10.39-26.13-27.97-3.42-2.05
Jo’burg All Shares4.414.803.11-1.546.7111.086.95
UK Gov’t Bonds-1.273.10-13.58-23.11-23.04-7.91-2.99
US Gov’t Bonds-0.91-2.74-7.87-14.81-14.80-3.59-0.64
Global Corp. Bonds-0.53-2.19-8.40-17.43-17.65-3.68-0.17
Emerg. Mkt. Local0.67-1.17-6.01-17.09-17.41-6.83-2.23
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 4/11/2022.

The week of 31 October 2022 was a busy week for economic data.

Labour data out of the US gave a mixed picture. Nonfarm payrolls beat forecasts as employers added 261,000 jobs in October. While the unemployment rate rose marginally from 3.5% to 3.7%. The resilient labour market suggests the US central bank might achieve its aim of a soft landing and avoid tipping the economy into recession, despite its aggressive policy of interest rate hikes.

The Federal Reserve (Fed) delivered its fourth consecutive rate rise of 0.75%, taking the federal funds rate to 4%. The accompanying statement suggested the monetary policy committee was preparing to ease up on its interest rate hikes. However, this was shortly followed by a surprisingly hawkish press conference where Fed chair Jerome Powell suggested that while the pace of rate hikes might slow, the peak for interest rates would now be higher than market expectations and could last longer. Dashing hopes of a pivot on its interest rate tightening schedule.

The Bank of England also increased its rate by 0.75%, taking interest rates up to their highest level since 2008 at 3%. But, by contrast, the UK central bank took a more dovish view, suggesting its rates will have to go up by less than financial markets have priced in because the impact of higher inflation and a prolonged recession would slow consumer spending.

Annual inflation for October in the euro area came in higher than expected at 10.7%, up from 9.9% in September. This was fuelled mainly be higher energy prices, although the price of food and non-energy industrial goods also rose. Meanwhile, unemployment in the euro area fell to 6.6% in September, down from 6.7% in August.

The US dollar continued to be strong against most currencies on the back of the Fed’s hawkish press conference.

On the corporate news front, 424 companies in the S&P 500 have already released their Q3 results. The challenging environment for tech giants continued as Qualcomm, a US wireless technology company, reported lowered revenue guidance for the upcoming quarter due to a deterioration in demand and macroeconomic headwinds.

Rumours of a relaxation in China’s COVID-19 restrictions led to a highly volatile Asian equity market on Friday 4 November, with the price of oil also reacting positively. However, over the weekend, China denied that any changes or relaxation of its stringent policy were planned.

The week of 31 October 2022 was negative for equity markets, particularly those areas sensitive to rising interest rates. This was due primarily to the hawkish comments coming from the Fed, as the much anticipated pivot in monetary policy failed to materialise.

Developed markets (+0.4%) outperformed emerging markets (-2.6%) over the last 30 days. In terms of style, value (+3.9%) performed significantly better that growth (-3.9%), while small and large capitalisation stocks were +1.5% and -0.1% respectively. Energy (+10.1%) was again the best-performing sector and communication services (-8.3%) was the worst. Technology stocks (-4.8%) fell relatively sharply given their higher sensitivity to interest rates and this was reflected in the tech-heavy NASDAQ.

Government bonds were down (-1.5%) as bond yields rose, with two years (-0.3%) and 10 years (-1.2%) as a result of the Fed’s more hawkish outlook.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)0.2-0.5
UK PMI48.2
UK CPI (YoY)10.1
EU GDP (QoQ)0.2
EU PMI47.3
EU CPI (YoY)10.7
US GDP (QoQ)2.6
US PMI54.4
US CPI (YoY)8.27.9

What’s happened in portfolios?

There was no real change in terms of positioning or preferences over the last month as, despite a lot of volatility, valuations were not affected significantly.

It remains a challenging environment for equities, and we retain our more defensive approach, favouring quality over more cyclical value. Looking at our underlying holdings, our quality focus funds, Fundsmith Equity and Morgan Stanley Global Brands, have struggled of late because of their bias to technology stocks, which are more sensitive to interest rate movements. But our value manager Dodge and Cox has performed well, benefiting from the higher oil price and its weighting to energy and, more recently, Chinese stocks, which were up over the last month.

Within fixed income, we remain neutral and continue to increase our duration – preparing the portfolio for the next stage where we expect growth to slow. The rise in yields following the hawkish rhetoric from the Fed has hurt our longer duration credit and government bond funds.

We continue to favour real assets and alternative strategies. Real assets obviously provide some inflation protection, but even within this class we’ve become more defensive, favouring infrastructure over more cyclical REITS and commercial property. In particular, Target Healthcare gave us a positive update and its valuations have been supported by inflation-linked rental growth, which offset an upward shift in yields. Expectations are for lower interest rate costs moving forward as they have put an interest rate cap in place, covering £50 million of borrowing that had previously been linked to floating rates.

Alternative strategies continue to provide a credible diversifier within the portfolios, especially in the current environment where the main asset classes are so highly correlated. It is worth mentioning that Gresham House Energy Storage secured £155 million increase in debt facility on existing (attractive) terms, which it plans to use to fund its near term renewables pipeline.

What's happening this week?

8 November • EU Retail Sales | 10 November • US Consumer Price Index (Oct) | 11 November • UK Gross Domestic Product (Sep)

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) US Bureau of Labor Statistics, (4) Financial Times and (5) Europa.eu

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Investing

The week in review

15 Nov

   |   4 mins

Equity markets saw their biggest rally in two years after the US consumer price index for October came in better than expected and raised investor hopes that inflation has peaked.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions