z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Uncertainty around the Omicron variant stoked market volatility in the week of 29 November, with riskier assets, including equities, suffering the most.
Published 7 December
3 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share1.03-1.52-0.9614.0014.195.305.81
Euro Stoxx 50-0.19-5.22-2.4417.8019.0211.559.62
S&P 500-1.18-2.460.4122.4325.5319.6717.80
Japan Topix-1.36-3.63-2.0410.6612.647.558.20
MSCI Asia Pac.-0.54-2.64-6.47-5.07-0.7910.3111.22
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.20-2.87-6.46-3.181.209.2010.35
Jo’burg All Shares3.303.357.9724.0925.1914.7411.19
UK Gov’t Bonds0.654.051.55-2.28-0.224.753.31
US Gov’t Bonds0.621.340.11-1.42-1.165.093.26
Global Corp. Bonds0.660.71-0.30-0.240.317.045.08
Emerg. Mkt. Local0.76-1.14-5.87-8.76-7.222.683.70

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 3/12/2021.

The many unknowns around the Omicron variant of COVID-19, including its severity and its response to vaccines, triggered wild market swings during the week of 29 November. There were spikes in the Vix index – a common indicator of market volatility – while riskier assets saw a decline.

Although dominated by pandemic-related uncertainty, the week brought further positive news for the labour market. Unemployment rates fell to post-pandemic lows in the Euro area (7.3%) and the US (4.2%). Purchasing managers’ index data in developed markets also continued to gain momentum suggesting that the outlook will continue to improve.

In the US, the government shutdown was averted by the passing of a short-term funding bill. The next battle will be to raise the US debt ceiling, so that the Democrats can attempt to pass their $1.75tn Build Back Better Act.

The persistence of inflation was acknowledged by Federal Reserve chair Jerome Powell as he told Congress it might be time to retire the term ‘transitory’ to describe the current inflationary outlook. This could signal a faster tapering of bond purchases and, potentially, interest rate hikes. However, members of the Bank of England’s monetary policy committee urged caution on interest rate changes until the impact of the COVID-19 Omicron variant becomes clearer.

The headline-grabbing news in the corporate world was Jack Dorsey’s decision to resign as Twitter CEO. He had previously resisted pressure from activist investors to do so. The company’s performance has lagged behind that of its peers: while Twitter stock has risen 67% since Dorsey’s return as CEO in 2015, stock in Meta has climbed by 260% over the same period.

OPEC+ surprised markets by announcing it would continue to grow oil production as planned, despite the latest pandemic developments. It will produce an additional 400,000 barrels a day from January 2022. However, OPEC+ added that it could adjust this plan in response to a global drop in demand, if Omicron hits travel and trade. Markets are already pricing in a reduction in demand, causing oil prices to fall for a second consecutive week.

With firm data yet to emerge on Omicron’s ability to evade vaccines and its likely effect on the course of the pandemic, markets were unsettled. The response was a classic ‘flight to safety’ that benefited government bonds. Small capitalisation stocks were worst hit, losing 7.4% in 30-day returns, compared with a 3.4% hit for large capitalisation stocks. At a sector level, IT stocks were most resilient (-0.6%) while financial stocks were worst hit (-6.0%).

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.3
UK PMI57.6
UK CPI (YoY)4.2
EU GDP (QoQ)2.22.2
EU PMI55.4
EU CPI (YoY)4.9
US GDP (QoQ)2.1
US PMI69.1
US CPI (YoY)6.26.7

What’s happened in portfolios?

Given the market’s tilt to less risky assets, our bias for mid and small capitalisation stocks has held back performance slightly. However, this has been partially offset by our preference for UK equities, which have outperformed other markets recently.

Despite volatility in fixed income assets as a whole, our high yield holdings have remained robust.

Similarly, our real assets have performed well due to their bias to quality, delivering the inflation protection we would expect.

In alternative strategies, KKV Secured Loan Fund held its AGM during the week, with all resolutions passed. We voted in favour of an incentive plan that will further align the board, employees and consultants with the interests of shareholders. The company is now known as SLF Realisation Fund Limited.

What's happening this week?

07 Dec • EU Gross Domestic Product Growth Rate | 10 Dec • US Consumer Price Index (November) | 10 Dec • UK Gross Domestic Product (October)

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) Eurostat and (4) US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

5 Dec

   |   4 mins

US equities rallied on the last day of November after Federal Reserve chair Powell said the pace of monetary tightening could start to slow as soon as December 2022. While in the eurozone, inflation eased for the first time in 17 months.

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions