z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The week of 23 May saw continued volatility in markets led by the news flow and relatively short-term sentiment, with increasing concerns that global growth is faltering.
Published 31 May
7½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share2.642.051.751.177.995.193.93
Euro Stoxx 504.403.80-1.77-9.03-2.477.314.55
S&P 5006.62-0.43-4.79-12.220.3915.5913.46
Japan Topix0.531.431.80-4.101.139.406.17
MSCI Asia Pac.0.290.48-10.29-15.34-23.034.933.83
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.910.24-10.29-14.59-20.914.503.22
Jo’burg All Shares4.320.43-3.77-2.3310.5113.099.25
UK Gov’t Bonds-0.69-2.09-5.49-10.66-9.30-1.94-0.43
US Gov’t Bonds0.300.19-4.62-7.81-6.850.301.06
Global Corp. Bonds1.04-0.03-5.08-10.10-8.850.922.03
Emerg. Mkt. Local1.681.38-8.12-8.91-13.53-1.18-0.18
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 27/05/2022.

The week of 23 May saw the UK cost of living crisis hit customer demand. The flash S&P Global/CIPS UK composite purchasing manager index (PMI) fell sharply to a 15-month low of 51.8 in May, down from 58.2 in April and lower than the 56.5 expected. The steepest decline in activity was in the service sector, dropping from 58.9 in April to 51.8. This slump in UK private sector growth takes it to its weakest since the lockdown in winter 2021.  On Thursday 26 May, UK chancellor Rishi Sunak announced a 25% windfall tax on the profits of oil and gas companies, as part of a £15 billion package of support for households struggling to pay for soaring energy bills.

In the US, inflationary pressures continued to weigh on private sector expansion as the flash S&P Global US composite PMI fell to 53.8 in May from 56.0 in April, and lower than the 55.7 expected. The rate of growth was the softest for four months, with the index now below the series long-run average of 54.8. New home sales also underperformed, plunging to their lowest since the start of the pandemic with an annualised figure of 591,000 (against the 749,000 expected). The US Federal Reserve minutes released on 25 May did not deviate from expectations, highlighting the “strong commitment and determination” of policy makers to restore price stability and prepared to raise rates further. US president Biden announced he is considering a review of the tariffs imposed by Trump on imports from China.

In Europe, eurozone growth remained more robust in May despite the headwinds from the Russia-Ukraine war, pandemic supply constraints and a rising cost of living. The flash S&P Eurozone composite PMI fell to 54.9 in May from 55.8 in April. Services posted strong growth as a result of pent-up demand following the easing of pandemic restrictions, especially for tourism and recreation activities. Meanwhile, Hungary’s prime minister, Viktor Orbán, refused to discuss the European Union’s (EU) proposed oil embargo of Russia at the forthcoming EU summit.

On the corporate front, there was mixed news on earnings. US media company Snapchat slashed its profit and revenue forecasts causing a -31% drop in share price, which has been a theme across a number of social media platforms of late. However, upmarket retailer Macy’s and discount retailers Dollar General and Dollar Tree all beat expectations with shares up more than 10% on the day. 

In other news, US government data indicated stockpiles of gasoline has fallen to the lowest seasonal level since 2014, fuelling the commodity to rise to a 2-month high.

After the Dow Jones suffered a historically significant decline lasting eight weeks, which was the first time since 1923, the week of 23 May was positive for markets, paring back many of the 30-day losses. Although they remain volatile led by short-term sentiment coming through. In terms of style, value (+0.5%) continued to outperform growth (-5.1%), while performance of small capitalisation (-2.4%) and large capitalisation (-2.1%) stocks remained broadly similar. Developed markets (-2.1%) remained slightly ahead of emerging markets (-2.3%) over the last 30-days, but developed markets remain ahead over the longer term. By sector, energy (+14.2%) remained the best performer, while global property (-8.1%) and consumer discretionary (-8.3%) were still significantly down over the last 30 days. In fixed income, high yield continued to underperform the broader global bond markets, particularly at the longer end, despite an increase in risk appetite.

The broader taste for risk assets that we’ve seen more recently has also resulted in the US dollar taking a breather from its recent strong outperformance.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)0.8
UK PMI51.8
UK CPI (YoY)9.0
EU GDP (QoQ)0.3
EU PMI54.954.9
EU CPI (YoY)7.4
US GDP (QoQ)-1.5
US PMI57.156.5
US CPI (YoY)8.38.2

What’s happened in portfolios?

As the taste for risk assets returns, it has become a more reasonable environment for equities. We have moderated our stance recently with a slight shift in focus to larger capitalisation stocks, over small to medium capitalisation stocks, and those areas which have better margin control and more global access to markets. We have maintained our preference for developed markets, while being mindful of the geopolitical risks we’re currently seeing in Europe and the more persistent inflation in the UK.  As discussed earlier, value continues to be favoured by markets year to date. That bias has been supportive of our equity holdings, in particular Dodge and Cox Global Stock Fund, the passive iShares Edge MSCI World Value and the iShares FTSE 100 UK Dividend Plus, with its indirect tilt to value.

We are moderating our underweight to fixed income with a shift from short duration, long credit risk to take more duration risk (i.e. more interest rate sensitivity) and less credit risk. Rotating slightly out of short duration high yield into longer duration investment grade or treasuries, now that end of the curve is really starting to price in some significant shifts. Our high yield has underperformed the broader market slightly over the short term with spreads starting to widen given the macroeconomic uncertainty. While longer duration has been rewarded, particularly over the last month. However, on a year-to-date basis, the opposite is true where we’ve seen yields increase and spreads tighten which have helped our relative performance within fixed income.

Real assets had an interesting, if volatile, week. There was a slight softness in the renewables sector on Tuesday 24 May on speculation over the UK windfall tax; however, this reversed quickly when it became clear renewable energy was not in the government’s crosshairs.

Finally, under alternative strategies, we took part in the successful Gresham House Energy Storage Fund capital raise, which was heavily oversubscribed and raised £150 million. The fund invests in utility-scale operational energy storage systems, primarily utilising storage batteries across Great Britain, which is a vital area to support the renewable energy sector.

What's happening this week?

31 May • EU Consumer Price Index | 1 June • UK Manufacturing Purchasing Managers’ Index | 3 June • US Nonfarm Payrolls

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth; Bloomberg; Reuters; Financial Times and S&P Global PMIs.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

Quarter end investment webinar: the outlook for global growth

30 Jun

   |   45 mins

Against a challenging background of heightened geopolitical tensions, soaring inflation and rising interest rates, David McFadzean and Tom Caddick assess the outlook for global growth and financial markets.

Investing

Webinar: sense and sustainability: making sense of sustainable investing

22 Jun

   |   45 mins

Faced with an explosion of sustainable investment options, David McFadzean and Tom Caddick discuss the growth in sustainable investing and how you can make sense of the jargon and the array of choices available.

Investing

The week in review

21 Jun

   |   4½ mins

The week of 13 June saw global stocks suffer their worst fall since the start of the pandemic, as investors reacted to further interest rate rises from central banks and fears of an economic slowdown.

Investing

The week in review

14 Jun

   |   4½ mins

The week of 6 June saw the release of higher than expected inflation figures in the US, prompting increased expectations of more aggressive interest rate hikes from the Federal Reserve.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions