z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

While attention focused on the ship blocking the Suez Canal, holding up around US$10 billion in trade a day, markets remained broadly positive, with the MSCI All Country World Index returning +0.96% in Sterling terms and +0.32% in US Dollar terms.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 30 March
2 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
0.544.294.955.5024.604.056.616.22
0.846.489.589.2939.529.148.918.23
1.584.407.736.1953.7116.5116.5416.03
-1.396.4211.769.9945.248.4110.2210.87
-1.98-2.806.142.3458.768.7914.5914.80
-2.15-2.204.821.5057.346.2713.0013.10
1.482.0514.1113.6652.879.568.357.52
1.081.22-5.26-6.12-4.773.123.252.99
0.40-1.24-3.52-3.96-3.684.382.412.32
0.43-1.03-2.86-3.2411.095.974.974.92
-1.26-2.77-6.02-6.5110.610.523.903.92

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 26/3/2021.

Investors are becoming increasingly worried at the rising number of COVID-19 cases in multiple regions, which in turn raises the spectre of further restrictions and limits on economic activity. In particular, Europe is facing its third wave due to the new variants. As a result, the German lockdown was extended until 18 April (albeit with a U-turn about Easter), more French regions saw restrictions imposed, and a number of Eastern European countries also toughened up their COVID-19 controls.

Despite this news, economic data is still picking up. The latest flash purchasing managers’ indexes (PMIs) from across the world generally came in much stronger than expected. The Eurozone and US composite PMIs came in at 52.5 and 59.1 respectively. However, they also highlighted that inflationary pressures remained strong, with numerous price gauges at their highest for years. As an example, the US composite gauge of prices paid and received rose to new record highs on the back of supply shortages and supply chain issues. Input prices exceeded prices charged by double digits, which suggests there is pressure on margins. In the UK, the latest employment figures indicated the labour market may be over the worst of the pandemic-derived unemployment, as the figure fell to 5%. UK core inflation came in lower than expected at 0.9%, instead of the 1.4% anticipated.

President Biden hosted his first news conference since entering the White House, where he touched on a range of issues, including China, promising to outspend on innovation and infrastructure. While he declined to say whether he would keep tariffs in place on the majority of Chinese imports, Biden stated he’s open to diplomatic talks with North Korea, although warned that the recent missile tests could still prompt a response. And, on the pandemic, Biden set a new goal of administering 200 million vaccines by the end of April, doubling his target for his first 100 days in office.

In markets, most regions posted positive performance, apart from Japan (-1.36%) and Asia ex Japan (-1.36%). Style-wise, value (+1.33%) outperformed growth (+0.56%). Real estate (+2.68%), consumer staples (+2.44%) and utilities (+2.37%) were the strongest sectors, while communication services (-1.72%) and consumer discretionary (-1.19%) underperformed. Small capitalisation stocks (-0.73%) underperformed their large peers (+1.13%).

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)1.01.0
UK PMI56.6 –
UK CPI (YoY)0.4 –
EU GDP (QoQ)-0.7 –
EU PMI52.5 –
EU CPI (YoY)0.91.3
US GDP (QoQ)4.3 –
US PMI55.357.4
US CPI (YoY)1.7 –

What’s happened in portfolios?

There were no portfolio changes during the week of 22 March. Meanwhile, we implemented one minor action, whereby we took advantage of The Renewables Infrastructure Group (TRIG) issue to top up some recently invested client portfolios, where required.
This issue is the latest in the renewable energy sector and, as we have noted previously, also affected the prices of our other renewable energy holdings too. Now that this has closed, we would expect market prices to recover for TRIG, down -5.56% in the month up to 26 March, but also for John Laing Environmental Assets (+0.45%). Of the two Greencoat investments, the EUR-denominated Greencoat Renewables posted better performance (+3.02%) versus Greencoat UK (+0.78%) for the month to date.
Separately, the resurgence of cyclical and value stocks has supported the +11.54% return year-to-date of Dodge & Cox versus the broader iShares MSCI World exchange traded fund, which returned +3.51% over the same period.

What's happening this week?

31 Mar • UK Q4 GDP Final | 31 Mar • EU Consumer Price Index | 2 Apr • US Average Hourly Earnings

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Reuters; (2) US Department of Labor; and (3) Bloomberg.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

Options for uncertain investors

19 Oct

   |   7½ mins

Many clients hesitate to invest. They have often realised the reasons why, but want to hold back given we live in uncertain times. Rebecca Cretney highlights the points she raises in her conversations, as well as the advantages and disadvantages for the options to be considered.

Investing

The week in review

19 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 11 October saw inflation increase higher than had been expected in the US and raised the prospects of action by the Federal Reserve in its November meeting. Meanwhile, growth forecasts for developed markets were cut slightly as supply chain issues continue.

Investing

September's investment market commentary

18 Oct

   |   2 mins

During September, the economic and corporate environment remained positive, however some equity sectors are beginning to look fully valued.

Investing

The week in review

12 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 4 October saw persistent inflation amid signs of slowing economic growth, with fears of stagflation stoked. While the US announced a disappointing new job number for September, but a fall in unemployment.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions