z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The week of 18 January saw world equities up 1% in Sterling terms and +1.5% in US Dollar terms. But what else faced investors in the key markets? We review the leading events globally impacting investors.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 26 January
2 mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share-0.53.816.43.1-7.00.07.1
Euro Stoxx 500.13.213.91.6-1.92.77.1
S&P5002.04.311.72.317.812.817.3
Japan Topix0.05.514.82.99.01.78.6
MSCI Asia Pac3.413.623.49.333.99.418.5
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.2.611.622.87.925.76.817.5
Jo’burg All Shares0.79.217.17.813.74.99.4
UK Gov’t Bonds-0.3-1.8-0.2-1.74.05.04.7
US Gov’t Bonds0.1-1.0-0.8-1.05.95.23.3
Global Corp. Bonds0.0-0.41.9-0.76.26.46.1

Emerg. Mkt. Local Currency Bonds

-0.3-0.55.2-1.32.82.66.8

With Johnson & Johnson’s vaccine expected to have sufficient data to analyse and emergency authorisation by the end of February, the world would be able to accelerate inoculations, not least as the drug only requires one shot versus the two needed by the AstraZeneca, Moderna and Pfizer jabs1. So far, of the G20, the UK has made the most progress, with 10.2% of the population vaccinated, followed by the US at 6.2%. Europe is lagging, and no country has reached 5% with many, including France and Germany, below 2%.

In economic data releases, the US weekly initial jobless claims came in at 900,000 on 21 January2, which was lower than the 935,000 expected. Meanwhile, the EU’s December consumer price index (CPI) showed that the Eurozone was in deflationary territory, with prices having fallen by -0.3% year-on-year1. The UK also released its latest CPI figures, with prices rising by +0.6% in December. Finally, purchasing managers’ indexes slid across Europe, with the composite Eurozone figure falling to 47.5, below the 50 mark that separates expansion from contraction. The US numbers, on the other hand, were stronger than expected, with the composite reading coming out at 58.0. 

The US presidential inauguration saw Biden attempt to reset the White House tone against an “uncivil war” and sign an array of executive orders to reverse various Trump policies3. These included stopping the United States’ withdrawal from the World Health Organization, rejoining the Paris climate accord, a federal mask mandate, ceasing the border wall construction, and an end to the travel ban on a number of Muslim-majority countries. Meanwhile, Janet Yellen was confirmed as treasury secretary.

In terms of style, growth stocks [+3.00%] reversed the performance of recent weeks to outperform value stocks [-0.70%] as the reflation trade unwound slightly. Among sectors, communication services [+4.25%], information technology [+3.40%] and consumer discretionary [+3.15%] outperformed. Among regions, Emerging Markets equities [+2.02%] have been doing well of late. In fixed income, while government bond yields were pushed higher, credit and shorter-dated maturities were the best classes to be invested.

ECONOMICS
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)16.0-2.0
UK PMI40.6
UK CPI (YoY)0.6
EU GDP (QoQ)12.4-2.2
EU PMI47.5
EU CPI (YoY)-0.3
US GDP (QoQ)33.44.3
US PMI58.0
US CPI (YoY)1.41.3
GDP = gross domestic product; PMI = Markit purchasing managers’ index; CPI = consumer price index

What’s happened in portfolios?

Within equities, Dodge and Cox trailed a bit as cyclical and value stocks underperformed, while our strong position in Emerging Markets was very helpful, given we added to our position in November and December.

Our bond funds outperformed more than the market given US bonds remain the pick of the advanced economy sovereign bond markets, a bias that we have maintained.

Within the alternative investment strategies, while our commercial property portfolio is being impacted by the latest UK lockdown, our other alternatives ended the week of 18 January mostly positive, albeit generally quiet. The only news came from both care home providers in that about 80% of residents and staff in their homes would have had their first vaccine by Friday 22 January, with the rest due to be completed by the end of January. And Hipgnosis announced further acquisitions of the royalties for Shakira, Michael Bublé and Neil Young songs, which has prompted the team to embark on another round of capital raising.

What's happening this week?

27 Jan • Fed meeting | Q4 GDP updates | 122 S&P500 firms’ earnings updates.

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Reuters; (2) US Department of Labor; and (3) Bloomberg.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

Options for uncertain investors

19 Oct

   |   7½ mins

Many clients hesitate to invest. They have often realised the reasons why, but want to hold back given we live in uncertain times. Rebecca Cretney highlights the points she raises in her conversations, as well as the advantages and disadvantages for the options to be considered.

Investing

The week in review

19 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 11 October saw inflation increase higher than had been expected in the US and raised the prospects of action by the Federal Reserve in its November meeting. Meanwhile, growth forecasts for developed markets were cut slightly as supply chain issues continue.

Investing

September's investment market commentary

18 Oct

   |   2 mins

During September, the economic and corporate environment remained positive, however some equity sectors are beginning to look fully valued.

Investing

The week in review

12 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 4 October saw persistent inflation amid signs of slowing economic growth, with fears of stagflation stoked. While the US announced a disappointing new job number for September, but a fall in unemployment.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions