z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Mixed economic reports from the US dashed hopes of a slowing in interest rate hikes, while the UK saw further political turmoil during the week of 17 October.
Published 25 October
3½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share1.53-4.26-4.60-7.05-4.241.851.92
Euro Stoxx 502.81-0.41-3.13-16.58-13.561.702.44
S&P 5004.75-0.87-5.76-20.27-16.259.429.72
Japan Topix-0.85-1.12-2.59-3.31-3.577.424.09
MSCI Asia Pac.-1.43-9.95-16.21-30.36-33.45-3.20-2.45
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.21-7.09-11.99-27.83-30.93-3.05-2.39
Jo’burg All Shares2.02-0.59-1.38-6.944.069.546.36
UK Gov’t Bonds4.88-4.71-14.68-25.93-23.31-8.90-3.61
US Gov’t Bonds-1.06-3.91-6.99-15.05-14.18-3.65-0.63
Global Corp. Bonds-0.77-4.87-7.91-18.49-17.80-3.96-0.32
Emerg. Mkt. Local-0.98-4.88-4.83-18.93-19.84-7.16-3.02
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 21/10/2022.

Economic data releases from the US gave a mixed view on the effectiveness of the Federal Reserve’s (Fed’s) interest rate hikes. The labour market remained resilient, with the US weekly jobless claims falling to 214,000, an unexpected decrease of 12,000 from the previous week. In contrast, the housing market showed more signs of weakness as existing home sales fell for an eighth consecutive month to an annualised rate of 4.71 million in September, according to the National Association of Realtors. This was the lowest level in a decade, apart from the short-lived falls of April and May 2020 during the first wave of the pandemic.

In the UK, inflation returned to a 40-year high of 10.1% in September, matching July’s figure and an acceleration from the 9.9% reported in August. The main driver was the soaring cost of food staples such as meat, bread, milk and eggs, which offset price drops for petrol.

The political and economic turmoil continued as Liz Truss became the shortest serving UK prime minister in history when she resigned on Thursday 20 October, after 44 tumultuous days in office. Her government collapsed following the market reaction to her mini-budget plans to cut taxes and increase borrowing and spending. The newly appointed chancellor, Jeremy Hunt, had wasted no time in announcing a U-turn on most of her proposals in his medium-term fiscal plan on Monday 17 October, including changes to the energy price guarantee for households, which does not bode well for inflation.

In other news, China’s 20th Communist Party Congress opened on 16 October for the week and Xi Jinping consolidated his leadership position. In an unusual move, the release of its Q3 gross domestic product figures, along with other economic data, was delayed without giving a rescheduled date. The People’s Bank of China maintained its one-year medium term lending facility at 2.75% and injected 500 billion yuan (approximately US$69 billion) into the banking system, as it attempted to retain liquidity in its pandemic-hit economy.

It was a relatively strong week for corporate earnings with Lufthansa, Netflix and Goldman Sachs reporting better than expected results. Although it must be remembered that earnings expectations are currently depressed. Tesla, on the other hand, fell short of revenue expectations.

In market news, developed markets (-2.0%) rallied, particularly in the US, following dovish comments from Fed members, but emerging markets (-7.1%) lagged over the last 30 days. In terms of style, value (-2.3%) outperformed growth (-3.8%), while large capitalisation stocks (-2.3%) led small capitalisation stocks (-3.8%). Energy (+8.1%) remained the best performing sector, with oil slightly recovering (+4.6%), while utilities (-12.0%) was the worst performer.

In fixed income, global government bond returns dropped (-3.4%), with short duration continuing to outperform (1-3 years -0.4%, 7-10 years -3.2%). Investment grade (-5.0%) and high yield bonds (-3.3%) were also down.

The Japanese yen reached 150 per US dollar for the first time since 1990 and solidified its 10th consecutive weekly decline. This reflects the strong US dollar and the different monetary policies of their central banks. The Fed is obviously tightening aggressively, while the Bank of Japan is still intervening in markets and keeping rates low.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)0.2
UK PMI47.248.0
UK CPI (YoY)10.1
EU GDP (QoQ)0.8
EU PMI47.147.6
EU CPI (YoY)9.9
US GDP (QoQ)-0.62.3
US PMI56.756.0
US CPI (YoY)8.2

What’s happened in portfolios?

It remains a challenged environment for equities in the face of persistent inflation, rising interest rates and slowing growth. We continue to tilt our equity positioning towards quality focused strategies. Over October, we’ve had some positive numbers from our developed market equities and some good earnings releases which has been helpful. Our value active manager Dodge & Cox is up almost 3% this month given its overweight to energy and banks.

Within our investment grade credit and government bonds holdings, the funds with the longer duration have underperformed.  This follows the US economic data on jobless claims which resulted in more hawkish comments from the Fed, which in turn pushed yields higher.

Real assets remain attractive as an alternative to fixed income and with some inflation protection. Defensives renewables and infrastructure holdings have performed better than more cyclical holdings, such as property, of late.

Alternative Strategies are preferable in the current environment to provide a credible diversifier within portfolios. Our UK holdings, such as GCP Asset Backed Income, did well last week following the U-turn on the mini-budget, which also helped sentiment across most UK assets.

Cash is becoming more attractive given market volatility and higher interest rates. It can also be swiftly deployed as opportunities arise.

What's happening this week?

24 October • UK Purchasing Managers’ Indices | 24 October • US Purchasing Managers’ Indices | 27 October • EU ECB Interest Rate Decision

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) US Department of Labor and (4) Financial Times

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

29 Nov

   |   5 mins

Economic news was mixed but signs of a weaker US economy raised expectations of a slowing pace of interest rate hikes. While in the UK and Europe business activity contracted for another month fuelling recession fears.

Investing

The week in review

22 Nov

   |   4 mins

The week of 14 November saw markets cool slightly following the previous week’s rally, as investors searched for signs of a potential economic slowdown and that inflation may have peaked.

Investing

Investment seminar

18 Nov

   |   50¾ mins

In this investment seminar, we reflected on the market stimuli in 2022, as well as the positioning of our investment outlook for 2023 and the opportunities which may arise.

Investing

The week in review

15 Nov

   |   4 mins

Equity markets saw their biggest rally in two years after the US consumer price index for October came in better than expected and raised investor hopes that inflation has peaked.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions