z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

Signs of cooling inflation continue but investors and policymakers are at odds over the outlook for interest rates. Central banks remain intent on staying the course on monetary policy, despite investor expectations for a reversal.
Published 24 January
4½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share-0.945.6912.714.362.923.333.67
Euro Stoxx 50-0.738.4818.658.73-0.685.765.78
S&P 500-0.654.078.843.55-9.927.769.05
Japan Topix1.251.281.831.862.075.882.80
MSCI Asia Pac.0.969.5925.198.86-13.870.470.12
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.649.0220.288.40-14.88-0.69-0.73
Jo’burg All Shares-0.058.6520.868.599.1314.869.39
UK Gov’t Bonds0.062.413.942.57-19.69-7.60-2.71
US Gov’t Bonds0.091.425.462.37-8.61-2.000.59
Global Corp. Bonds0.212.378.533.15-9.53-1.881.28
Emerg. Mkt. Local0.025.1215.324.68-6.37-3.34-1.06
Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 20/1/2023.

Despite news reports of redundancies in technology companies and interest-rate sensitive sectors like finance and housing, the US labour market remained resilient as weekly initial jobless claims came in lower than expected at 190,000, a decrease of 15,000 from the previous week. Inflation continued to show signs of slowing as the US Producer Price Index (PPI), which measures producers’ input costs, fell 0.5% in December (cooler than the 0.1% expected). This decline is even more marked when viewed on a year-on-year basis, at 6.24% for December 2022 down from 10.00% at the same time last year. However, it was yet another week of hawkish comments from central bankers as most Federal Reserve (Fed) officials backed raising rates above 5% and maintaining that level for most of the year, if that is what it takes to get inflation under control.

In the UK, Bank of England Governor Andrew Bailey expressed more optimism about the prospects for falling inflation during 2023 and didn’t refute market expectations that interest rates would peak at 4.5%. Inflation slowed for a second consecutive month with the consumer prices index (CPI) edging down to 10.5% in the year to December 2022, from 10.7% in November. With lower fuel prices the key driver.

In Europe, markets dipped after European Central Bank (ECB) President Christine Lagarde quashed recent market speculation that the central bank would ease the pace of its monetary tightening. Addressing delegates at the World Economic Forum in Davos, Lagarde said inflation was still “way too high” and that ECB policymakers are determined to stay the course on interest rates to bring inflation back down to their 2% target in a timely manner.

In China, gross domestic product (GDP) increased by just 2.9% in the fourth quarter but beat market expectations of 1.8%. The challenges of the government’s zero-tolerance approach to COVID-19 and a property market slump made 2022 one of the worst on record for China’s economic growth.  The sudden relaxation of its strict lockdown measures has raised hopes of an economic revival in 2023, but has also resulted in a new wave of COVID-19 cases.

In corporate news, results have been mixed. Goldman Sachs disappointed the market with weaker than expected earnings. Morgan Stanley, on the other hand, surprised markets with better earning and a positive outlook. Netflix beat expectations by adding 7.66 million paid subscribers in the fourth quarter of 2022.

In other news, the Bank of Japan (BoJ) stood firm on its yield curve control policy and continued its unprecedented monetary easing in its January meeting. Since the BoJ meeting on 20 December 2022, it has spent US$265 billion buying bonds to try to hold yields within its target range, which is equivalent to 6% of Japan’s GDP.

In terms of markets, investors enjoyed a positive start to 2023 with a broad-based rally in equity markets. The more growth oriented sectors performed the best on the back of falling inflation expectations and the prospect of lower interest rates. Emerging markets (+8.3%) continued to enjoy a higher return than developed markets (+3.7%) over the last 30 days. In terms of equity style, growth (+4.9%) outperformed value (+3.6%), while small cap stocks (+5.9%) beat large cap stocks (+4.0%) over the same period. Communication services (+9.4%) was the best sector performer and consumer staples (+0.4%) was the worst. Within fixed income markets, yields have declined a little since the start of the year, particularly on the longer duration end, despite the hawkish comments from the Fed and ECB.

The US dollar has fallen against most major currencies in the year to date, on expectations of a slowing in interest rate hikes from the Fed. Its status as a safe-haven currency had benefited strongly from the Fed’s hawkish monetary policy during 2022.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)-0.3
UK PMI49.048.8
UK CPI (YoY)10.5
EU GDP (QoQ)0.3
EU PMI49.349.8
EU CPI (YoY)9.2
US GDP (QoQ)3.22.7
US PMI49.650.3
US CPI (YoY)6.5

What’s happened in portfolios?

In equities, it has been a really strong start to the year with risk assets outperforming. The TT Emerging Markets Equity Fund has been the star performer given the strength in emerging markets, and also outperformed the emerging market benchmark.

In the fixed income space, yields have continued to fall on a year-to-date basis, with our tilt towards longer duration bonds helping relative performance. The current environment with inflation coming down and less inflation premium being priced in to yields, particularly the longer end, has proved beneficial as we have been increasing our duration over the last 12 months. Our exposures to the sovereign 7-10 year bonds and also the active investment grade managers are doing really well in this environment and that is translating into some good performance for the fixed income part of the portfolio.

In terms of real assets, it’s been a good period broadly speaking. Infrastructure and gold continue their recent run of outperformance, helped by falling real yields and a weaker US dollar. We have been reducing our exposure to less cyclical real assets, such as REITs, in favour of infrastructure, which has long-term stable cash flows similar to fixed income instruments.

Alternative strategies have detracted from relative performance of late as it has been a difficult environment for them. But there have been some bright spots with Stifel upgrading Hipgnosis to a “Buy” recommendation. This is due to a bottoming out of the recent slowdown in royalties. Royalty revenues tend to work on a nine-month lag, so we saw a gradual reduction in royalty revenues on the back of the COVID restrictions, but there is now an expectation for continued growth in song royalties.

What's happening this week?

24 January • UK S&P Global PMIs | 24 January • EU S&P Global PMIs | 26 January • US Q4 GDP Growth

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg, (2) Reuters, (3) US Bureau of Labor Statistics, (4) UK Office of National Statistics, (5) World Economic Forum and (6) Financial Times

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

The week in review

31 Jan

   |   4½ mins

The week of 23 January 2023 saw mixed, but marginally better, economic data. Equities continued their positive run as inflation appears to be cooling and investors hope for signs of a softer landing in 2023.

Investing

UN COP15 Biodiversity Conference – a ‘historic’ deal is reached to protect nature

24 Jan

   |   2½ mins

The recent UN Biodiversity Conference (COP15) saw nations from around the world agree on a package of measures designed to tackle the perilous loss of biodiversity and restore natural ecosystems by 2030. Madhushree Agarwal reflects on how this global framework could support investors in redirecting capital towards more sustainable endeavours.

Investing

2022 global market review

17 Jan

   |   5½ mins

2022 was an extremely challenging year with disappointing equity and bond market returns. High and rising inflation through most of the year led central banks around the world to raise interest rates sharply and put downward pressure on almost all asset classes.

Investing

Quarter end investment webinar: is inflation on the turn?

16 Jan

   |   45 mins

Inflation was the big story in 2022 as central banks battled to rein it in with interest rate hikes. US inflation appears to have peaked, but geopolitical pressures remain. Will 2023 see more of the same?

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions