z-kolkiemz-kolkiem

The week in review

The week of 4 October saw persistent inflation amid signs of slowing economic growth, with fears of stagflation stoked. While the US announced a disappointing new job number for September, but a fall in unemployment.
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Published 12 October
5½ mins

What’s happened in markets?

KEY MARKET MOVEMENTS (% change)
 1WK1MO3MOYTD1YR3YR5YR
FTSE All Share0.47-0.911.7213.2124.574.224.89
Euro Stoxx 501.02-2.252.4017.3228.1910.389.70
S&P 5000.83-2.601.9818.2129.2717.1117.47
Japan Topix-1.23-5.002.9110.7320.885.4510.18
MSCI Asia Pac.0.81-5.07-5.28-3.4310.7611.9210.17
MSCI Emerg. Mkts.0.86-4.05-3.79-0.8215.0910.919.37
Jo’burg All Shares2.480.392.2114.0024.4410.128.33
UK Gov’t Bonds-1.48-5.05-4.65-8.68-7.112.841.23
US Gov’t Bonds-0.80-1.41-1.45-3.00-3.235.012.28
Global Corp. Bonds-0.87-1.36-1.32-1.431.146.574.32
Emerg. Mkt. Local-0.77-3.11-2.31-6.790.514.432.40

Figures in the respective local currencies as at the end of trading on 8/10/2021.

The week of 4 October was deemed to be interesting from an economic standpoint: while we are still in an expansionary phase, growth is appearing to plateau.

In the US, September’s purchasing managers’ index readings were revised upwards, but pointed to supply chain issues across multiple countries – issues which are likely to hamper growth. Meanwhile, US jobs growth disappointed, with only 194,000 new jobs added in September, which was the lowest number since the start of the year and significantly below the 500,000 expected. However, the unemployment rate fell to 4.8%, its lowest level since the start of the pandemic, and wage growth picked up on a year-on-year basis.

This prompted concerns over stagflation – a scenario where inflation is high, the economic growth rate is slowing and unemployment remains too high. It’s also a scenario that many investors are unfamiliar with and that, along with the uncertain political environment, is causing concern. Here, although the US senate approved legislation to extend its debt ceiling for two months to December, the process created unnecessary volatility across financial markets – price movements that will be seen again as we near the new deadline. All eyes now will be on the Federal Reserve and its November meeting, which many believe will announce the start of tapering for bond purchases, despite the disappointing job numbers given the persistence of inflation.

In the Eurozone, minutes of the European Central Bank’s September meeting, published on Thursday 7 October, revealed tension among policymakers over its inflation forecasts. They warned about the risk of a ‘regime shift’ in prices and called for a bigger cut in asset purchases than had previously been agreed at its August meeting.

In the UK, economic recovery continued to be hampered by ongoing supply chain issues, a jump in inflation and the risk of rising unemployment, as the government’s job-protecting furlough scheme ended on Thursday 30 September. The news is prompting the Bank of England to consider earlier interest rate increases than it would have preferred.

It was against this backdrop that the Reserve Bank of New Zealand raised interest rates for the first time in seven years. Although the nation has a relatively confined economy, this had a knock on effect more widely given people have been expecting a shift from rhetoric to action by central banks following the recent more hawkish tone of meeting minutes with regard to interest rates.

On the corporate front, Facebook suffered one of its worst weeks ever in financial markets, the courts and news headlines. While the whistle blower’s testimony in a senate hearing caused general outrage, the bad news continued when the platform suffered a global outage that lasted several hours. As a result, Facebook shares slumped 15% from the previous month’s level, although the stock has still delivered year-to-date performance of 21%, which compares well against most global equities. At the same time, Comcast Sky launched its first ever smart TV service, which does not need a satellite dish, which sees them taking on streaming services such as Amazon and Netflix.

In markets, we saw a degree of risk appetite returning following a cautious few weeks, in part following the positive news on the US debt ceiling developments. Value stocks (1.4%) did well, largely on the back of the slightly higher bond yields, but growth stocks (0.2%) continued to underperform. Energy (4.3%) was the outperformer, despite a degree of easing on gas prices after Russia hinted it would supply more natural gas to Europe. Oil stocks (4.5%) were also up over the last 30 days, with Brent crude briefly reaching US$83.50 a barrel and US prices reaching a seven year high. The shift up in energy pricing has been a concern for markets, with gas prices, in particular, dominating the headlines.

ECONOMICS  
 Latest

Consensus

Forecast

UK GDP (QoQ)5.50
UK PMI54.90
UK CPI (YoY)3.20
EU GDP (QoQ)2.20
EU PMI56.20
EU CPI (YoY)3.40
US GDP (QoQ)6.70
US PMI61.90
US CPI (YoY)5.305.30

What’s happened in portfolios?

The key themes in our portfolios have remained in place.

We still see the current environment as reasonably favourable for riskier assets, such as equities, but there are signs of growth moderating. We’ve maintained our preference for domestic developed markets – specifically pan-European – where economies are reopening and valuations are not stretched on a relative basis. We are also starting to look at emerging markets again, where the valuations look less stretched and we believe we can benefit from the global reopening of economies.

In fixed income markets, the converse is true and we see this as a less favourable environment. The week of 4 October has seen this view play out with starting yields at historically low levels so there is very little direction they can go in other than the opposite. Inflation remains a clear threat, particularly for mid to longer duration holdings. As such, we maintain our positioning within portfolios, with our preference for credit risk rather than interest rate risk. As a result, our short duration bias has helped as yields rose and our holdings in Axa and Muzinich continued to do well on a relative basis. Our longer duration investment grade holdings performed less well.

In other areas, real assets are attractive as an alternative to fixed income, offering a degree of diversification with some inflation protection. Infrastructure is of particular interest given the sector’s valuations and the potential for recovery.

In the current environment, we add further diversification to our portfolios with our alternative strategies and have recently added a further position in private equity to tap into the reopening of economies.

What's happening this week?

12 Oct • EU ZEW Economic Sentiment Indicator | 13 Oct • UK Gross Domestic Product | 13 Oct • US Consumer Price Index

Clients of Nedbank Private Wealth can get in touch with their private banker directly to understand how their portfolios are responding to market events, or call +44 (0)1624 645000 to speak to our client services team.

 

If you would like to find out more about how we manage clients’ investments, please contact us on the same number as above. Or you can get in touch using the links to the forms towards the end of this page.

Sources: Nedbank Private Wealth and (1) Bloomberg; and (2) Reuters.

The value of investments can fall, as well as rise, and you might not get back the original amount invested. Exchange rate changes affect the value of investments. Past performance is not necessarily a guide to future returns. Any individual investment or security mentioned may be included in clients’ portfolios and is referenced for illustrative purposes only, not as a recommendation, not least as it may not be suitable. You should always seek professional advice before making any investment decisions.

Access more of our insights

Investing

Options for uncertain investors

19 Oct

   |   7½ mins

Many clients hesitate to invest. They have often realised the reasons why, but want to hold back given we live in uncertain times. Rebecca Cretney highlights the points she raises in her conversations, as well as the advantages and disadvantages for the options to be considered.

Investing

The week in review

19 Oct

   |   5½ mins

The week of 11 October saw inflation increase higher than had been expected in the US and raised the prospects of action by the Federal Reserve in its November meeting. Meanwhile, growth forecasts for developed markets were cut slightly as supply chain issues continue.

Investing

September's investment market commentary

18 Oct

   |   2 mins

During September, the economic and corporate environment remained positive, however some equity sectors are beginning to look fully valued.

Investing

Quarter end investment webinar: navigating the brave new world

7 Oct

   |   45 mins

Rebecca Cretney was joined by Tom Caddick on 7 October at 12.30pm UK time to discuss recent trends in financial markets, how these might affect investors in the coming months, and how our portfolios are positioned to respond.

Get in touch

If you are interested in becoming a client, please complete the form via the ‘become a client’ button below. Alternatively, if you are already a client, or if you have a question about how we help clients in particular circumstances, please use the ‘contact us’ button.

 

We will get back to you as soon as we can during office hours, which are Monday to Friday, 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

Become a Client

Thank you for your interest in Nedbank Private Wealth. Please call us on +44 (0)1624 645000 or complete the requested information and one of our team will get back to you soon. We look forward to speaking with you.  Please note: If you are an EU resident, we are unfortunately unable to offer our services to you at present.

* Required fields

Contact Us

Please call us today on +44 (0)1624 645000. Our office hours are weekdays from 8am to 8pm (UK time), except for UK public holidays.

 

Or please complete and submit the below form and one of the team will get back to you as requested.

* Required fields

Search suggestions